42 comments on “Hey David, Look Up!

  1. Hey Trace,

    You’re a beautiful day dreamer and your cat is adorable πŸ™‚

    Here’s a video for you. It’s a song by Adele aptly titled Daydreamer πŸ˜€

  2. One more thing, Trace, I had meant to say congrats to you for Nadal’s winning streak that you had excitedly mentioned in the last few posts. I am sure you will be very busy once Wimbledon starts soon.

    Have fun spazzing with Sheba πŸ˜€

    Hey Sheba, it’s been a long while, hope you’re good.

  3. Wow, DRA is really holding up so well at the Fly 30 chart! Thanks for that piece of news, Trace.
    The Archie’s are doing a great job!

  4. Shirley

    What a beautiful song by Adele. Thanks! πŸ™‚

    “A jaw dropper
    Looks good when he walks
    He’s the subject of their talk
    He would be hard to chase
    But good to catch
    And he could change the world
    With his hands behind his back”

    Adele is singing about David right? πŸ˜€

  5. Shirley

    Haha Sheba and I can’t make up my minds who to spazz about sometimes – David or Nadal – both are supermen in their own field. πŸ™‚

    Now Nadal has won his 8th title at the French Open – he has created history! What a guy! πŸ™‚

  6. Yes Shirley, the Archies are doing a great job keeping David’s name out there, for which I’m pretty touched. πŸ™‚

    I’m posting an “ancient” song about “dreaming” for you.

  7. haha! Hi Shirley πŸ™‚ Lol, I did text Trace after the Roland Garros final. So happy for Nadal. Also, I was a fan of Nadal before DA came into the picture and nothings change really. I’ve got enough room for the both of them. No need to choose haha πŸ™‚

    Also agree with ya on DRA on the flychart. Cool right? I know some foreign Archies who make it a point to regularly vote. So awesome of them. Archies really are the best πŸ™‚

  8. Sheba!

    I thought you had disappeared to Santiago to spy on David then dropped by Paris for the Roland Garros Final! πŸ˜› Anyway, glad to see you!! πŸ™‚

    You’re right, I have enough room for both too – we have big hearts just like David – as long as they do not fall out. πŸ˜€

    Archies all over the world are the best fans ever! Am so proud to be one of them. πŸ™‚

  9. Hey Shirley, there was some drama during the French Open Final, which caught everyone by surprise. Thought you might like to watch this vid. πŸ™‚

  10. Trace,

    Brandi Carlile has a soothing voice and I do remember that song. Wasnt it originally sung by the Everly Brothers or I could be wrong there haha.

    I know you will appreciate that part of Adele’s lyrics to Daydreamer. Maybe Adele is an Archie, possible right? πŸ˜€ πŸ˜€

  11. Hi Sheba!

    Nice to hear from you. Yes, we all have big hearts with enough love to go around haha.

    We know that David is very grateful for the fans who are still around despite his hiatus. Another lucky guy πŸ™‚

  12. Aiyoh, Trace that on-court bare-chested intruder is mad or was he protesting against something?

    The security that hurried to Nadal’s direction was quick to make sure he was out of the gila man’s way. That incident must have panicked you to some extent. Were you watching it live? Errr, on second thought that was a dumb question haha

  13. Shirley

    Lol! A dumb question indeed. Of course I was watching it Live and Sheba too.
    Nothing but the best for Nadal, and David too. πŸ˜€

    That bare-chested gila man who interrupted the Finals match was protesting against gay marriage in France, following the passing of the same-sex marriage bill, which of course will lead on to legalised adoption.

    There was a previous incident too in the Finals in 2009 when a man, dressed in a bull-fighting matador’s costume, confronted Roger Federer.

    These men obviously were seeking publicity for their whatever cause.

  14. Yes Shirley, “All I Have To Do Is Dream” was originally sung by The Everly Brothers.

    I believe it was released in the late 50’s or early ’60’s.
    The renditions then, though more “romantic” and soothing, sound rather “tame” compared to the way songs are sung nowadays I think.

  15. This is a vid of another Nadal’s encounter after a match – a man kissing him and saying “I love you”. πŸ˜€

  16. LOL Trace, the guy who tried to stole a kiss from Nadal is another gila man! Guess its just another interesting day for Nadal at the court.

    Great post by Masterclasslady! She adores David and its always gratifying to read anything she writes on him πŸ™‚

  17. BTW, Trace have you been watching The Voice US lately? Thought I’d ask cos there’s no Nadal now till Wimbledon, right? πŸ™‚

    Anyway, I am raising my glass for my girl, Michelle Chamuel whether she wins or not πŸ˜€

  18. Shirley

    Haha yes there are many gila men in the world…and women too …like us? πŸ˜€
    I wonder if the day will come when some girl would run up the stage and grab David. πŸ˜€
    It would be fun to see David’s reaction! πŸ˜€

    No, there aren’t any tennis matches with Nadal in it until Wimbledon. He is resting. He needs to look after that injured knee of his. πŸ™‚

  19. Shirley

    Yes, I have been watching The Voice. It’s wonderful to see Michelle make it to the Finals. And The Swon Bros too. I like them.

    That song of Michelle’s you posted is really nice. Thanks! This one of The Swon Bros is an age-old song which I find amazingly sung.

    Hey Shirley, wanna make a cyber-bet about who wins in the Finals?
    You back Michelle and I’ll take on the Swons. The loser will buy a cyber pad thai lunch! πŸ˜€ πŸ˜€

  20. Bring it on, Trace! It is after all just a cyber pad thai lunch haha

    Wow! I actually wanted to post that Swon Brothers’ rendition of Danny’s Song this morning for you. They did a great job on that. Am not a country fan but I do enjoy that cover very much.

  21. On the whole I aint a big fan of country music but I appreciate that country music is very much about the voice and the story lines unlike pop music which so overrun with over the top personalities and average voices that masquerade as talent. It’s not surprising that the pop music industry is suffering from poor sales whereas country music is still flourishing.
    Although I just don’t get the appeal of the likes of Taylor Swift who sings about nothing but bad relationships and yet sells records in the gazillions. It’s a complete mystery.

  22. Shirley

    Same here – am not a fan of country music, but that one sung by the Swon Bros really grabbed me.
    Thanks for having had the intention to post it but sorry I beat you to it haha! That shows how well that song was sung. πŸ™‚

  23. John

    We both have an incomprehension about the popularity of TS. Besides harping on the same topic (I don’t listen to her, let alone really know what the lyrics are about, but I’ll take your word for it), her voice is annoying to me – just my own taste.

    But then she is not the only one. As you said, many pop artistes are just masquerading as talent but they sell, and many people insist they are talented.

    Country singers definitely sing better and they sound like they mean it when they sing. So where does this opinion take David? He who has the voice and the real talent? Should he go country???

  24. Hey Trace,

    Looks like you owe me a Phai Thai lunch! Lets make it a real one. We can do that when I come to KL next time. πŸ™‚

    Haha David going country? Well I dont have an answer for that. Maybe he can collaborate like this.

    The MV is not bad too πŸ™‚ πŸ™‚ πŸ™‚

  25. The music industry is trying to make TS have credibility by pairing her with all sorts of different artists but to me that still doesn’t take away the fact that she’s so one dimensional and definitely do not deserve the success she has – in my opinion.

    Congrats to Blake Shelton’s three-peat in The Voice. Seems he really can pick ’em.

  26. Shirley

    What d’ya mean I owe you a pad thai lunch?! Neither of us won – we both lost! Boo. πŸ˜€
    Looks like most of America still wants a fresh-faced pretty girl. πŸ™‚ But Danielle is better than last year’s pretty girl I think, ( can’t remember her name)

    We certainly can still have our pad thai and think of poor David not having his. πŸ˜€

    Trust your evil self to post vids of TS! I no like! 😦 πŸ˜€

  27. John

    I think Ed Sheeran has gone “beneath” himself by collaborating with TS. He is talented I believe, but that Missy can SELL! as we watch from a distance, mystified and bewildered! No wonder the pop music industry has gone down.

    I believe both Danielle and The Swon Bros picked Blake Shelton, not the other way round. He was lucky he got both of them. He himself said words to that effect. Looks like country music is the way to go nowadays and the Mid-American voters love their country music: out of 3 finalists, 2 of them are country singers. Usher could very well have won too through Michelle because she seems to have much likeability and sings well. Our Shirley has spazzed about her right through her comments – well, not exactly, but almost LOL! πŸ˜€

    Blake understands country music and has indeed done very well at The Voice. Kudos to him! πŸ™‚

  28. One more thing John.
    Instead of what I said about “the music industry going down”, it would be more appropriate for me to say that “the artistry of pop music” has gone down.

    So how does David come into all this? I’m impatiently waiting for him to do something about it. But that needs alot of discussion and tantrum-throwing – we can yarn about it in the next thread next week. πŸ™‚

  29. Thanks Trace – love that duet of Usher and Michelle. I have enjoyed watching The Voice this season because of Shakira and Usher. Overall the judges have such great chemistry together unlike the other singing reality show haha.

    My goodness its been such a long while since I watch that video of David covering that song. I remembered there was a fans’ petition of sorts a long time ago for him to sing the full song.

  30. HAHA Trace, Michelle won over the Swon Brothers so technically it means you lost πŸ™‚ πŸ™‚ πŸ™‚
    Actually I dont fancy Pad Thai at all. I prefer our char kway teow anytime!

    LOL its not a solo Taylor Swift’s video, what..also the MV only has her pretty face at the end of it. Oh ya, you dont like her voice heehee. Just so you know I was at those two videos because of Ed Sheeran πŸ˜€

    Dont think Ed has gone ‘beneath’ himself by collaborating with TS at all. I see it as a win win situation cos making inroads into the North American market is a huge challenge. He was invited by Taylor to join her on her around-the-world Red Tour. Who wouldn’t jump at that chance, right? He is now on a six months tour with Taylor and has temporary set up home in Nashville. They are both young songwriters and play the guitar hence its very natural that they will write together at some point. Would you throw up your hands in exasperation if David is in Ed’s shoes? At the very least I know you’ll be over the moon that he’s back rather than in Chile πŸ˜€ πŸ˜€ πŸ˜€

    Maybe this video will calm you down πŸ™‚

  31. Shirley you cheated! πŸ˜€
    We bet on WHO WINS. So, in truth, you lost too! πŸ˜€ πŸ˜€
    Anyway, no pad thai for either of us – and like you, I prefer our char kueh tiow too. David doesn’t know any better! πŸ˜€

    I’ve enjoyed watching this Season’s Voice too. I like Usher and Shakira too. She is lovable.
    Poor Adam is jealous of Blake I think. And Blake is embarrased he won so many times. Hahaha, we fans really do read into things! πŸ˜€

    The show is definitely more entertaining that “the other reality show”… what is it called again? πŸ˜€

  32. Shirley

    That vid and those lyrics of HFO are supposed to calm me down?! 😯
    …”trying to breathe…but my lungs shut down….” ok, if that’s what you mean by calmness… I’m plenty calm…. πŸ˜€

    TS pretty? Oh well…….. πŸ˜€
    I forgot to say earlier that her face annoys me too. 😦 πŸ˜€

    Good on you that you like Ed Sheeran. He has more talent than that “pretty face” many times over. πŸ˜›

    Haha, David collaborating with Ed? … now, that’s a different story. πŸ˜€ πŸ˜€

  33. Shirley

    This vid is for you to celebrate your forever-voting-for-one-who-comes-out-2nd place! πŸ˜€
    Very nicely sung.

  34. One more thing Shirley.

    Michelle and Usher singing ONE have made that song quite unrecognisable, according to my ears, much as I enjoyed it.
    Whereas David sang it truer to the original melody.

    I read somewhere that melodies should not be changed too much when it is covered. Or else, why not just sing a different song and call it by a different name? jmo

    Let’s see how U2 sang it.

  35. TOT – but I had to bring this over.
    It’s an acapella version of Toto’s Africa ( I love this song πŸ™‚ ) by a Slovenian jazz group. It’s nothing but vocals right down to the rhythm and tempo:

Leave a Reply

