9 comments on “Father’s Day

  1. Oh my gosh, Trace men do have funny ways of handling kids! That video is so funny. It reminded me of how my husband would roughhouse my girls when they were small and they loved it. I would be cringing at the side and asking him to stop 🙂

    I am sure David misses his dad while he’s away. No calling dad on Father’s Day for those missionaries, right? What a bummer 😦

  2. Shirley

    Haha that vid was fun! 🙂
    So did your kids run to you for rescue after their stint with dear old roughhouse Dad? 😀
    Sounds like a good balance to me – a boisterous Dad and a sweet gentle Mom like you. 🙂

    I wonder sometimes if kids get embarrased when parents behave in an OTT way. 🙂

  3. Shirley

    Have you heard this song by Cat Stevens from the 60’s? – who is now of course Yusus Islam.

  4. Shirley

    This song is for your kids’ boisterous Dad to wish him a happy Father’s Day. 🙂
    Cat Stevens was one of my favourite singers when I was a kid and this is one of my very favourite songs of all time. 🙂

    After he decided to sell his guitars and other musical instruments, he became an education philanthropist and a prominent Islam convert. He has been given several awards for his humanitarian work including the 2003 Peace Award, 2004 Man For Peace Award and the 2007 Mediterranean Prize For Peace. In 2007, he returned to make a couple of albums and is now professionally known as just Yusuf.

  5. thanks for the father’s day tribute. that first video is hilarious. when i first read the shakespeare quote, i didn’t quite get it. once i did, it made me reflect upon my relationship with my (now deceased) dad.

    re. jeff, i acknowledge that i haven’t always been kind to him in my fansite posts. with that said, i’ve seen him in person 3 times as he accompanied david. on each occasion, he was smiling proudly, staying in the background unless approached by david’s fans. being in the wrong place at the right time, once i saw david backstage giving instructions to his crew. his dad was in a corner just watching. david looked so in control that it made me think perhaps his father needed him more than david needed his father (as a manager). this isn’t a criticism of jeff — just a guess.

  6. desertrat

    To me, Shakespeare’s words meant we take our Fathers for granted, that his giving to us is almost a non-issue. But us giving our Fathers becomes an emotional aspect because it is a rare thing. 🙂

    This is for you, desertrat, (and me) who will no longer relish our Dad’s presence.

  7. desertrat

    Yes, all we can, and should, do is to guess about David’s relationship with Jeff.

    When Jeff came to Malaysia, I kept away from him even though he was just 10 ft away from me, simply because of my own prejudices about what he did to the family while my archie friends thought him a really charming man.
    Retrospectively, I thought to myself: who am I to judge? How do we know what really happened behind closed walls? All we know about is what the fans and the media say. Is it not enough for me that he gave David life and guidance?

    I now just want to be grateful to Jeff (and Lupe) for having brought David out of his shell and gave him the encouragement he needed to sing in public. Or else the archie world would not have existed and I wouldn’t have had so much joy from David’s music and fun with my fellow archies.

Leave a Reply

