12 comments on “PledgeMusic

  1. Tracy

    First of all, I must sigh in relief with you that your mid-term exam is over. And I’m sure you’ve done very well too. ๐Ÿ™‚

    You guessed right. I’m scratching my head as to what to think about David taking on Pledge Music, much as the topic you brought out is indeed a thought-provoking one. Yes, we archies certainly do put David into every perspective in our lives! ๐Ÿ™‚

    My immediate reaction is I would want to help David in any way possible in his musical endeavours. All diehard archies, I believe, want to make sure he gets to the top of the ladder. Doubtlessly, I’m one of them. Remember – the Scholarship and all the charities under his name – archies are a generous lot when it comes to David.

    However, my following thought is: won’t the followers then become a more limited and a smaller one? Half of David’s fandom consists of teens – will they be able to afford to contribute to this endeavour?

    The plus side is he would be able to write any kind of music he likes.
    Also, his archies would feel a greater sense of intimacy with him.

    This subject needs a bit more pondering over. I too would be most interested to see what the others think.

  2. Hi Tracy! ๐Ÿ™‚ Glad you had fun at Joe Brooks show. Did he sing Five Days of Summer?? I love that song, makes me think of D in Chile lol.
    I think PledgeMusic is an awesome idea for D. I expect when he comes home he’ll have to rebuild his career from scratch. (it’s a good thing not bad) I think the freedom that comes from being an independent artist will be beneficial. IMHO auntie Trace, the number of followers doesn’t matter as long as D can make quality music. If the music is truly great people will contribute. The teens in the fandom will grow up and listen to more mature music anyways.
    Hey Tracy, if you’re in the British singer-songwriter phase at the moment go check out people like Passenger or Luke Sital-Singh( current faves). The UK seems to be fertile ground for musicians haha. Here’s Passenger and Teddy Sheeran ๐Ÿ˜€

  3. Great post, Tracy! Glad you had the chance to see Joe Brooks. I am familiar with him because of my daughters’ interest. ๐Ÿ™‚ I didn’t know he was back in Malaysia otherwise I would have exclaimed ‘why is he always coming back here?’ haha. Anyway, is this his second visit?

    I love Holes Inside and that’s probably my most well known song of his. Wow, I didn’t know about PledgeMusic and it was interesting to find out that the MV of Holes Inside was actually funded by the fans, so cool.

    I don’t see any harm with David going indie post mission and if he’s brave enough to go down the route like with PledgeMusic it will be another exciting experience for him and his fans ๐Ÿ˜€

  4. Hello Liying,

    Passenger does have a very distinct voice. I think he experienced quite a breakthrough after supporting Ed Sheeran during his tour. I’ve gotten to know Passenger after watching a few videos of him and Ed together during their recent Aussie tours. My daughter took a pic of him busking around town and he looked every bit the hobo haha

    I enjoy listening to this song ๐Ÿ™‚

  5. liying and Shirley

    WOW! You guys really know alot of things I don’t. ๐Ÿ™‚
    And you seem excited too about the idea, which is a good thing for David.

    I said earlier that I would do anything possible to help David do music. It was just that it was such a new idea to me that it didn’t seem to make sense haha! And of course, I confess I had never heard of Joe Brooks either. ๐Ÿ™‚

    Well then, count me in with the excitement of the new idea.
    Liying – go write a letter to David!

  6. Hello Tracy,

    Thanks for the introduction of the new British artist, Joe Brooke and his songs are not too bad. I, too, have not heard of him before. Do you know how PledgeMusic market him at the moment??

    To me, It doesn’t matter which label David is attached to as long as his management knows how to “market” him. They must have the right connection to radio stations and other marketing channels. David might need to start from scratch and he needs to compete with many new manufactured singing artists. The latest was AI and soon-to-be The Voice. David also got to have his own music style to be distinguished from these newbies and it would be great if he could work with the Brits music producers. LOL… my wish list and we shall wait for another X months.

    Here is another British singer songwriter that I just got to know through a tv series. A unique song.

  7. Thanks for introducing me to Passenger. LOL…He has a unique vocal and I’m also enjoying “Let Her Go” but I still love the Bee Gees’ falsetto vocal. ๐Ÿ™‚

  8. Akang

    I tend to agree with you that, as long as David has a management who know how best to market him, it does not matter too much what label he has, or not.

    You’ve mentioned before that you would like him to work with British producers. I would really like to know about your take on that. Is there much difference between them and the US ones?

  9. Today is Wesak Day!!
    Wishing all our Buddhist archies a day of peace and tranquility. ๐Ÿ™‚

  10. Shirley, Liying and Akang

    It’s the 1st time I listened to those songs you posted – I liked all of them! ๐Ÿ™‚
    Is this the musical route you guys would like D to take? ๐Ÿ™‚

  11. WOW! At FlyFM DRA had been hanging onto the Fly30 chart for weeks and weeks at 10, 11 etc, and now he has shot back to No.2 a couple of days ago and last night he blew the roof and is now back to NO. ONE!! A happy Wesak indeed ! ๐Ÿ™‚

  12. Wow Trace, wonderful news about DRA on the Flyfm chart! Amazing how that song has been holding on for a long while there. Kudos to all the Archies who have been voting.

    Blessed Wesak Day to everyone who is celebrating.

Leave a Reply

