40 comments on “Music that takes us to SOMEWHERE ONLY WE KNOW

  1. From the end of the last thread

    VERMEER/penciltopaper:

    Lol!! 😀 😀 Vermeer would have approved your using his name and you know why!
    Glad you liked the durian post. 🙂

    The archu-stupor is still very much intact with most of us…so we are still here…but we need to fan the fires now and again…Lol! 🙂

  2. Hi Trace,

    Great post! How can I not remember the songs Anak and San Francisco? Both songs were popular on the radios back then. I do know Anak was sung by Freddy Aguilar but have no idea who sang San Francisco haha

    Ahhh, now that Northern Lights is one of David’s most beautiful performances. Thanks for the reminder. I remembered how those Mannheim Steamroller guys were quite enthralled with David after his singing. Who wouldnt, right?

    Music has its ways of affecting us emotionally, create inspiration or even boosting our brain power as claimed by some upon listening to classical music. Its a tool of communication and expression for the artists and we know David is quite a master at that.

    Love this song and the lyrics by The Script. The band members, Danny (lead singer) and Mark (guitarist) co-wrote this song in remembrance of their late father/parents. I can feel the emotions to the lyrics as I still miss my dad even after 7 years. Guess we will always remember our loved ones 😦

  3. Trace what a lovely post 🙂
    Music that moves us? Puhlenty! Gosh where do I start? There has been many that moved me, made me sad, angry, nod my head in approval, that I connected with….the list goes on.

    San Francisco brings back memories :-). That’s when my siblings were in their teens and they wore fowers in their hair, partied at almost every weekend, spotted dark sunglasses, psychedelic colored clothes and did the funky chicken dance…they went the distance lol.

    Child by Freddie Aguilar is a great song. It still resonates with me to this day and that’s its beauty… the message within the song is timeless and still rings true today. To continue with the theme of parent/child relation songs like this I recommend ‘The Living Years’ by Mike and the Mechanics:

    It’s a lovely song about generational friction, regret and hope.

    Another piece of music I really love is the theme from the movie ‘A Summer Place’ by Percy Faith:

    This song brings forth such feelings of sweet nostalgia and puts me in a really good mood 🙂
    I’ll have to go thru my music collection to come up with other examples.

    Thanks for the post Trace. Good job 🙂

  4. John

    Thank You! Getting a compliment from our dear Uncle really means something! 🙂

    A Summer Place brings back strange vibrations for me too – I went on my very 1st date (at a very tender age haha!) (such a gentle boy/man he was too 🙂 ) to see the film. Hm..Sandra Dee – all the boys were mad about her then! 😀

    The lyrics of The Living Years are so true.
    …Every generation blames the one before….

    Funky chicken dance? I don’t remember having done that! 😀
    But I remember being drugged (not literally hello! even though rampant drug-taking started then) on this one – A “Must” at every party in London. I still don’t understand what they are singing about though. 😀 Are they just drunk or mampus from drugs?!

  5. Akang

    It’s always so nice to see you! 🙂

    That vid was very touching. Especially now that MJ has gone. If only the different peoples of the world would unite and be at peace with one another, just as the song had indicated. That song definitely brings to mind our need to be ONE.

  6. Shirley my luv… hehehe…. 🙂

    Thanks for the vid of The Script. I can’t help feeling after watching it, that there seems to be an element of “anger” in the lyrics – that Danny wanted his folks to see him successful but it was too late.

    If my surmise is true, we must really re-think about our attitudes towards the people we love while they are STILL alive. Regret is a very sad thing. One can never go back to the past to make amends especially when they are eternally gone.

    Since you mentioned classical music, and I know you are not into it, but be patient with me and listen to this aria by Puccini. Start from 0.39 if you like – it’s more melodious 🙂
    Passion in operas can be very beautifully expressed and bring tears to one’s eyes.

  7. Tracewillow!

    You are just teasing me, right? Is that Puccini and that part from 0.39 onwards is called melodious? Ok thanks for that little introduction to the opera. Always something new to learn everyday 🙂

    Since you’ve mentioned bell bottoms and flower power, perhaps you will enjoy this performance 😀

  8. Shirley – HAPPY BIRTHDAY to you!! May your birthday bring you good luck to last for the whole year. Haha..you’re a champion! 🙂

  9. Shirley

    Dang Akang beat me to it. 😦 😀

    Many Happy Returns! 🙂 You may or may not have a rowdy party-ing time today, but when you have a quieter moment, listen to this and may the beauty of the pics take you somewhere serenely beautiful…bring you sweet memories.. and basically take you to somewhere only YOU know. 🙂

  10. Hey Shirley,

    Listen to this. You can listen to Trace’s above music when you’re having insomnia after today’s party-ing!!

    🙂 🙂 🙂

  11. Shirley

    Lol! Tom Jones! My sweet nostalgia of the ’60’s definitely did not include him! 😀
    But those hips can really gyrate! 😀 Good old Tom, looking good, is still around and is a judge on The Voice UK.

    The Puccini aria is not melodious meh? So good wat! 😀

  12. Hi Amy

    Thanks so much! I felt old for a minute but then I perked up when I click on that video 🙂
    Heck, we are all champions in our own ways for having endured this far in David’s absence.
    This is especially true to all the AAM admins – ya know who you are!

    I know you have a soft spot for The Bee Gees. This one is you my dear chingu 😀

  13. Akang

    Lol!! My music for Shirley has been “downgraded” to insomnia-time?! 😦 😀 😀
    But I do like the Bee Gees, so you are forgiven! 😀

    It would be truer to say that I admire the Bee Gees that their career has withstood the test of time – hitting a trough, and came back bigger than ever and their Saturday Night Fever (plus ALL the songs in the film) is heard in every corner of the globe.

    That vid brings us back to the disco era. I remember everyone pointing their fore finger skywards when they danced, just like John Travolta did! You must have been one of them!! 😀 Fun memories…

  14. Akang

    That chingu vid is so simple and yet so wonderful!
    “..the way it unfolds is yet to be told..” – love that! 🙂
    Thank you so much for posting it! 🙂

  15. LOL Trace, no rowdy parties for me. In my book, the rowdiest party for me would be if we could go to another David’s concert together. Thanks so much for the birthday greeting!

    I actually enjoyed that humming chorus video so thanks for posting it. Love the wonderful scenes and the glorious colour of nature. So beautiful :). Maybe I will substitute Puccini when I cant sleep haha

    Bee Gees and the disco era! Fun times and of cos who could say they didnt do the finger pointing thing that John Travolta did haha

  16. Akang and Shirley

    Talking about champions –
    (a memorable artiste from the ’70’s)

  17. Shirley

    Oh yezzzz!! Party time with a David-concert!! 😀
    Let’s party then!! 😀 😀

    This is David thanking everyone for still being around! 🙂

  18. Love that Jason Mraz’s video, Akang. What a beautiful song 🙂

    Looks like we are having our own little party here this morning, thanks to my two great
    chingu(s). Trace, Akang told me chingu is friend in Korean 😀

    Hmmm…looks like now is a good time to sing a karaoke together haha

  19. LOL…I’m having fun now! Happy Labour Day!

    Let see. This music took me back to my first concert that I attended in Los Angeles and it was also Madonna’s first concert. I queue up for almost 8 hours before admission to the huge stadium.

  20. Woohoo! Trace 😀 Freddie Mercury and only his white shorts on stage haha
    He certainly was a memorable artiste with a great voice.

    Oh man! Talk about memories. The KL concert!!!! and the epic ending. What a great day we all had then 😀

  21. Wah! Trace… that Freddie Mercury was really something! hehehe…. LOL….

    Shirley – thanks for the wonderful song! That song is evergreen!

    My first concert in Kuala Lumpur at Stadium Negara was this:-

  22. Wow! Akang, you’re an ardent concert goer. 8 hours queue to a first Madonna concert – must have been quite an experience 🙂

    Lost In Love by Air Supply – another great song! I can tell they are really good live performers from your video.

  23. Shirley

    Yes I did guess that “chingu” means “friend” in Korean. Knowing Akang, it has to be Korean haha!

    The way I see it, true friendships do not need to be peaceful all the time. There are ups and downs and fights and quarrels and misunderstandings…to say the least. What’s important is, when we look back later, we know for sure the friendship is true and genuine – something that we KNOW…some place to be good at. And listening to good music gives us that good feeling. 🙂

    How about this to prove my point? 🙂

  24. Trace

    Procol Harum’s ”A Whiter Shade of Pale” is considered a timeless classic although I don’t quite get what the song is all about. Maybe that’s why it fascinates so many listeners.. the different ways you can interpret the song.

    Any of you ladies ever had a crush on your male teachers? There’s this song by Lulu that was the rage back in the days called ”To Sir with love”‘. The lyrics talks about the respect and affection between the pupil and her teacher and how the latter has brought the former from ‘crayons to perfumes”. It’s a lovely tribute to all the teachers out there:

    As for Freddie Mercury and Queen, my favourite song of theirs is ”A Crazy Little thing called Love”.
    When I first heard this song on the radio I never thought that it would be by Queen. I always thought that Mercury and his band mates were all about bohemian pop-rock music and not a song that was cute and has a country rock twist to it:

  25. Akang
    What a coincidence 🙂 My 1st concert was also Air Supply at Stadium Negara. Back then they were at their full ensemble of 6-8 band members. My favourite Air Supply track is this one:

    Russell Hitchcock’s soaring vocals gave the song’s message of undying love so much impact. It makes one really believe in eternity 🙂

  26. My favourite karaoke song is ”Faithfully” by Journey. I always attempt this song when I’m at the karaoke but of course I can’t handle the high notes lol. But when you have a golden voice like Steve Perry’s (the band’s lead vocal) the song truly comes alive. It’s a song about life on the road when you’re a member of a band and the toll it takes on your personal relationships:

  27. Lol Anonymously John

    All the songs you posted are lovely (and the ones Shirley and Akang and I posted too) – they made me look back with reminisce – happy or otherwise – all sweet and heart-tugging. 🙂
    That was the time when singers really SING.
    It’s one of the reasons why I like David.

    It’s strange, isn’t it? that, life’s happenings, like anger or dissatisfaction at the time, when one thinks back now, they all invariably become sweet memories which one would want to treasure for the rest of our lives.

    To Sir With Love made me think of my carefree schooldays. No, no Crushes on the teachers in school but I was pretty much the teachers’ pet practically every year and that was something I look back with cheeky satisfaction with all the “naughty” things I got away with! 🙂 – until my French class during my adult years – that French man was really quite appealing! 😀

    I like Journey. Steve Perry’s rasping voice very much appeals to me too! 🙂

  28. Another feel-good or maybe feel-touched song by Journey – about love, commitment and reminiscence.

    Journey has changed its lead singer?

  29. Hi Trace,

    That is a beautiful song by Journey. Never heard it before but its a really touching one.

    To answer your question, a while back I caught this story on Oprah about the new lead
    singer of Journey. Amazing story! Dont Stop Believing indeed 🙂

  30. Also, Trace, thanks so much for posting the video on Friends’ top funniest moments. That sitcom was so entertaining and I can watch them all over again. Maybe I should purchase those DVDs. Did you say they’re available at Speedy?

  31. OMG Shirley!! When did that happen?! He’s got his missionary hair so it must have been just before he went away right? Who is that girl? Why is he looking so awkward and shy – just like those AI days? Why is he fiddling with his buttons?
    So many questions! Please explain to me before I go bust! 😯

  32. Shirley

    Oops..in my hurry to post the previous comment, I forgot to thank you – such a fast worker you are! 🙂 Thanks so much!!!

    And thank you too for the Arnel Pineda vid – I really like him! Those Filipinos can SING!! 🙂

    Yes I have seen box sets of Friends at Speedy but it was some time ago. That tv series were addictive, aren’t they? 🙂 Shall I check it out for you the next time I go?

  33. LOL Trace, I am afraid I have no answers for you. Infact I have the exact same questions going on in my head when I watched that video 🙂

    I enjoyed watching Arnel Pineda’s story. Yup, they sure can sing!

    Oh no, dont bother about checking out Friends’ box set for me but thanks for asking. I shall look out for them over here when I next visit Speedy.

Leave a Reply

