54 comments on “A Reply From Archu-Elder (…You Wish!)

  1. Hey Trace,

    That reminds me to dig out those postcards that I’ve bought earlier to send to David. I could be a month behind in writing to him πŸ˜€

    Since his hair has been mentioned lots of times in that reply, I just had to go watch some BTS videos from Bench. I really like how they FIX-ed his hair unlike some of the ‘Ah Pek’ look in a few scenes from Nandito Ako :). I particularly enjoyed this teaser. Hopefully Bench will continue to release more BTS videos for us.

  2. Hey Shirley

    So you are one of those responsible for shattering his letterbox! πŸ˜€
    Would you like to share what you’ve been writing to him? πŸ™‚

    I agree with you – I love those Bench Videos.
    It is as if they brought out parts of David which have never been tapped on before.

    Thanks for the bench Teaser vid. πŸ™‚

  3. Guys

    This may be a “feel-good” video for many of you. Be warned – it is pretty long.

    “Feel good” for David because it’s something he believes in,
    because it’s something he has wanted to do for a long time.
    After watching it, you will begin to understand better why he wanted to be part of this Mission.

    But sort of “feel bad/sad” for us fans of course. πŸ™‚

    But it is an indication of what David has been doing for the past 2 months or so.
    However, it is an LDS vid, so you must draw your own conclusions. πŸ™‚

  4. A couple of you guys have expressed your liking of the Dove (above pic) which sent that David-mail to us.
    (Why not express it here instead of texting and emailing me! Lol!)

    Doves are symbols of Love, Peace, Hope, Promise and Good Tidings – which is what David has been about, and what we wish for him. πŸ™‚
    Anyway, who wants a dirty old pigeon sending a David-mail to us! πŸ˜€

    And I want to thank Uncle John for having ingeniously added the words “To AAM” and the Squiggly Pig on the envelope!
    John! You still got it woohoo…! πŸ˜€

  5. Hi Trace,

    I like your ‘feel-good’ video. Some parts were rather touching. Once again, I am in awe of David’s decision to serve a mission. Its inevitable that he’ll go on one but I suppose we were all caught by surprise with his announcement last Dec 😦

    Anyway, Sarawak is on Public Holiday today and I went for a walk in the park this morning. I have came across this elderly caucasion couple before and saw from afar that they had black name tags on their shirt (they were not wearing their mission uniforms). I was thinking that they could be LDS missionaries and this morning I walked past them and confirmed that they were indeed missionaries πŸ™‚ Just in case you’re wondering, I didnt stop them in their tracks and ask if they know a David Archuleta πŸ˜€

    Oh Trace, my 1st postcard to David was to send him my best wishes for his mission. Signed it off with lots of XOXO

    Remember this from the KL show? * Sigh * there really is Somethin’ About Love….

  6. Just a short note (not sure if it relates to the discussion above :P), I met some missionaries here in the mall near my house. I didn’t talk to them though cos’ they seemed a little unfriendly but I did manage to catch one of their names: Elder Melster. Seeing them having a nice meal together reminded me of David. I just stood there wondering if they have ever met David during their mission training. Now wouldn’t that be something to chat about? πŸ˜€ It was so easy to picture David sitting there with them.

  7. Elder Melster – has a nice rhyme to it πŸ™‚
    You know when these Elders walk around in their black suits they could pass for FBI agents lol. Which reminds me has anybody watched MIB yet? The Elder could in fact be an alien from planet Neptune disguised as a singing Earthling.

  8. I’m probably being cynical but I wonder if all these Elders are such goody goodies as they seem to be? Do they have any ‘dirty’ thoughts? πŸ˜‰

    In these days of such social upheavals and temptations they seem too wholesome to be true. For example do they ever fall so madly and passionately in love that they would abandon most if not all their principles for the sake of the girl? In fact do they have any primal urges at all?

  9. Shirley

    Do elderly people go on these missions too?
    That’s interesting – wouldn’t they get exhausted from all that walking and cycling?
    Maybe they just preach to people in their neighbourhood.
    (tongue-in-cheek πŸ™‚ )

    Haha Shirley you’re still revelling in the KL show. I occasionally still go through the vids of his AI performances. I’m sure we all still do. πŸ™‚
    That KL Show last year holds much passionate memories!

    Looking forward to your divulging more to us your messages to David.
    Yeah, we are all gey-pos here! πŸ˜€

  10. Tracy

    I think we Malaysians, on the whole, how ever much we are informed by the media of the westen culture and goings-on, are still a little shy and hesitant about approaching foreign strangers even though we are dead curious about them when we see them.
    I suppose their uniforms intimidated you a little huh? πŸ™‚

  11. John

    Lol! – “Our Elder A could in fact be an alien from planet Neptune disguised as a singing earthling.” πŸ˜€

    He has also been hailed as a heavenly angel.

    And now he resembles an FBI agent! πŸ˜€

    Or maybe he is just a rustic yoddling- caveboy from the Utah caves? πŸ˜€

    I have not seen MIB yet but I saw the very 1st one years ago and thoroughly enjoyed it. So much fun! πŸ™‚

  12. Hahaha! you guys are sooo creative and imaginative!!!!
    Love the dove! Thank you for keeping this site alive!

  13. Trace those links you provided made for very interesting reading. I guess not every one of those who go on their missions would come away with the same spiritual experience. Some of them would realize that their calling in life lay some where else.
    This prompts an unpleasant thought: Were they somehow ‘coerced’ or felt pressured to go on their mission in the first place? Did they embark on their missionary work with trepidation, resentment or even doubt?
    I suppose our Elder would no doubt return from his mission extolling it’s virtues and swear that it was the best thing he had ever experienced.

  14. Eunice

    Thank you! πŸ™‚

    Yes we must keep the site alive for David. Besides, I think we are having alot of fun! πŸ˜€
    See you again soon. πŸ™‚

  15. John

    I’m positive there is a certain amount of coercion and pressure on some of those youngsters to do the mission.
    When Sheba texted me from SLC immediately after the concert where he made his earth-shattering announcement, I was of the opinion for weeks that he was pressured into it, and made no secret of my anger.
    I guess I have changed my mind. Don’t ask me why or how – it’s just a feeling. I believe now he really wanted to do it.

    Which sort of gave me a kind of relief.
    If such was his almost lifelong wish, I think he should go and “get it out of his system” – a sour-grapes attitude, I suppose for me, but then that’s his personal life and personal relationship with his faith.

    I am also sure many of them too were carried away by romanticising about it.

    I agree that David would be extolling the virtues of it on his return. But I’m sure it will be spoken from his heart.

    Much of what many young people cannot succeed to do, like going through hardships, loneliness, the feeling of having been deprived of a normal life, I somehow feel our Elder will go through it with flying colours.
    He has a sense of determination and self-control and mental and emotional strength that is quite remarkable and admirable for one his age.

    Just watch this vid and tell me his earnestness doesn’t show through.

  16. Trace,

    Interesting links that you’ve posted. LOL, I think we can kinda guess what David’s homecoming speech will sound like!

    What a heartfelt and touching performance by David on that I’m Trying To Be Like Jesus video. You can plainly tell that he meant every word that he’s singing. Simply beautiful * sniff sniff * Thanks to you, I think I’m going to be stucked in this video tonight πŸ˜€

  17. hey Trace – thanks for another awesome post!!

    I like this particular phrase “It’s awesome I can now wear the same outfit everyday; Just like the cartoon characters and not so much money to pay”.
    LOL…. David’s sense of humour was unbelievable and his wish for the wearing the same uniform came true. πŸ™‚

  18. Cuckoo woman: “And how did your 2 year mission go sainted one?”

    Caveboy: “Gosh giggle…it was wonderful! I preached the gospel, did the Lord’s work, rode on this teenie, tiny bicycle from village to village”

    Cuckoo woman: “Rode a bicycle? Weren’t you tired? Didn’t they give you a car or something?”

    Caveboy: “Oh no ….giggle…you must live as the common folk do…I wanted a donkey actually to go around on…giggle”

    Cuckoo woman: “So it sounds like you had a good time”

    Caveboy: “It was great! I had the most wonderful time…I feel so spiritually uplifted and cleansed. In fact I wanted to extend my mission an extra 2 years!”

    Cuckoo woman: “Another 2 years?!” ( thinking to herself: “Are you out of your TOSOD – freaking mind?!” )

    Caveboy: “Giggle…yeah I really wanted to bicycle my way around South America, preaching the Gospel”

    Cuckoo woman: *falls on her backside in a dead faint*

  19. I initially did think there were some elements of “coercion” involved in D’s decision, especially after the tearful announcement at the SLC concert. Then I allowed myself to be reassured by his later explanation of the matter. His explanation to me sounded a little unsatisfactory at the time but I understand he has his own reasons. A lot can happen in two years so we shouldn’t assume that he’ll return as the same giggly adorable boy. However the thought of that does unsettle me a little.

  20. Shirley

    Lol! Stop sniffing and help me invent a come-home speech for David. πŸ˜€
    Like this?
    (With due respect to David)
    “Oh it was awesome! I can’t tell you how much the Holy Spirit has filled me with such heavenly music! I can’t wait to have you guys listen to it! Giggle…”
    (Quickly runs for pen and paper to write it all down)

    Lucky us! πŸ˜€

  21. Akang

    Thank you!

    You are right, his wish did come true – perhaps he already knew at that time that he was going to wear the same Elderly uniform in the near future. πŸ˜€
    That stinker can really keep secrets (he had already decided to join the mission then) for such a long time!
    And you guys thought he was an “open book” , huh!

    I still maintain he is a “rebel” at heart, which you, dear Akang, did not agree with me at one of the older threads.
    By “rebel”, of course I did not mean the stereotype where the person in question wears outlandish clothes and rides a Harley etc.

    He has more than a streak of stubbornness about him and no one can tell him what he should do – like wanting to wear the same thing everyday like cartoon characters.

    He doesn’t like having to follow the norm. He will not adopt a dressing code expected of a rock star. He insists on being himself, whether the whole world likes it or not.
    An under-stated rebel, if you ask me. But a true one.
    I liiike ! πŸ˜€

  22. liying

    What you said really tickled me.
    “the thought that in 2 years’ time he will not be the same giggly boy and that unsettles me a little”

    His giggliness is definitely a major attraction for many Archies! πŸ˜€
    I guess he should just giggle on then LOL!

  23. After several hours (or is it days?) Cuckoo Woman recovers from her dead faint…..

    Caveboy: OMG! Are you ok? I thought you died from a heart attack! I was on the way to fetch a priest ……oops, I forgot I was one…

    Cuckoo Woman: Why do you have to extend your mission?!

    Caveboy: Cos I enjoy it so much….I get to ride a bicycle everyday…I share so much with my fellow Elders in spirit……and I still get to sing everyday….

    Cuckoo Woman: But what about all the cuckoo women of the world! Have you no sympathy? What about me?! I’m your real mama you know…

    Caveboy: Don’t be cuckoo…I already have a mama.

    Cuckoo Woman: Yeah but I’m the real one… *sniff sniff*….

    Caveboy: Oh Lord….please extend my Mission for another 10 years….

    (Caveboy collapses in a dead faint….)

  24. Haha hilarious conversation between Caveboy and Cuckoo Woman!
    Come to think of it, its actually quite David when he would ask to trade his bicyle for a donkey if that is the common mode of transportation around Chile!

    Trace,

    LOL, now we are trying to invent his homecoming speech? Well I guess it’ll keep us occupied while waiting πŸ™‚ Yours is a good start except he might also say ‘Gosh this is sooo weird….I have been speaking daily in Spanish and now my mouth feels funny and my brain tingles when I’m speaking in English to you guys’ Giggle 3x

    BTW, since you’re anxiously waiting for BEGIN, perhaps you might like this video of the acapella group singing Bridge Over Troubled Water. They are even wearing something rather similar to David’s mission uniform in this video. Though I must add none of them is as good looking as David but they do have great voices πŸ˜€

  25. What a hilarious dialogue! Firstly bicycle turned into donkey and secondly mission extends to another 10 years! LOL…

    Trace & Shirley,
    What’s going on? Is it year 2014 already that both of you are inventing his homecoming speech!! LOL…you ladies are so funny, fast-forwarding the clock!!

    Shirley – thanks for a pop version of Bridge Over Trouble Water. Are you getting hang of it listening to BOTW yet? If not, listen to this version and this is sure a good looking dude, right Trace? πŸ˜‰

  26. Shirley

    Lol! I was quite tickled when he said his mouth feels funny and his brain tingles when he speaks English now. And it’s only been 2 months.
    In no time he will forget his English and speak in tongues! πŸ˜€
    (Do they have such a thing in LDS?)

    Thanks for the vid of BOTW. But I prefer the version by Elvis posted by Akang. But my favourite version is still the original one by Simon and Garfunkle.
    Watch this vid of their 2009 performance in Madison Square – they’ve probably become grandpapas already, but their voices, though aged a bit, are still good.

  27. Akang

    That’s a wonderful idea – fast-forward the clock to 2014!! πŸ˜€
    No, better not, then I’ll age sooner. 😦

    Yes I do like Elvis’s version very much. But of course I like most of his songs. Thanks for posting it. πŸ™‚

    I wish David would sing this old song by Simon and Garfunkle – one of my favourites from them. Just David and the piano.
    S & G’s songs were used right through the film The Graduate.

  28. Hi Akang!

    Great rendition of BOTW by Elvis. I hardly watch videos of Elvis but I do think he and David share the same smouldering good looks (apart from the voice), dont you think?

    Wah, suddenly it dawned on me that we have exactly two months to go before the release of BEGIN. We are getting lots of new stuff from David this year. Lets hope Kari and his team will have plenty of goodies stashed up for us in 2013 πŸ™‚

  29. Hey Trace,

    Yes I agreed with you on Elvis’ BOTW. Loved the original version by Simon & Garfunkel. Great duet, its truly an evergreen song. Cant wait to hear David’s version πŸ˜€

    Ahhh, Scarborough Fair – such a soothing song. Who knows, maybe David will surprise us with a few Simon & Garfunkel’s songs in BEGIN. Remember when he did this one at the Invisible Children Break The Silence event?

  30. Shirley

    Thanks for the Sounds of Silence video with Landon Pigg.

    Do you realise that, every time David does a duet, he chooses to stay in the background instead of trying to overpower the other singer’s voice?
    Offhand, I can’t remember which vids I’ve seen to determine that fact.

    Since you are one of the Youtube experts πŸ™‚ perhaps you can help me to remember. Was it the off-the-cuff performance with Michael Johns at the Brook White’s concert? (Oh dear I can’t even remember whether that’s her name)

    I think that really reflects on David’s character. He is not competitive and never tries to steal the other person’s thunder – God bless the sweet soul of the Elder.

    However, would you say that’s a good trait for a performer?
    Should a performer always try his best to outshine the other for the sake of impressing the audience/listeners?

  31. I don’t know about deliberately outdoing a fellow performer but he should sing the best that his natural ability allows him to. I detest showboating in a performer but on the other hand he shouldn’t be a wallflower either and recede to the background.

    The Elder is good enough to be a lead singer not a backup singer. That’s the thing about him that I really don’t get. He allows his inhibitions to get the better of him and let others take the lead when he can eminently hold his own.

    I remember when AI season 7 was getting ready for their summer tour and there was an interview involving the top 10 for that year and after the Elder was done with his interview he sort of sneaked off to one side ostensibly to allow the others their chance to speak to the interviewer. But he came off like such a dweeb hiding behind the others as if he was scared of something. It was so clear in the video that non fans quickly started to make snide comments about his non leadership qualities and how glad they were that he wasn’t the American Idol.

    I read somewhere today about a quote that’s attributed to the recently departed author Ray Bradbury and it goes like this:

    “Go to the edge of the cliff and jump off. Build your wings on the way down”

    I would really encourage the Elder to go jump off more cliffs. He may learn to soar like an eagle.

  32. Yes I tend to agree with John.
    David has more talent than he wishes to acknowledge.
    He must realise that he is no longer the “boy who just wants to sing”.
    He must overcome his “humility” and learn to “jump off more cliffs and soar like an eagle”.
    (Btw John I love that quote).

    Being a “humble” person offstage is one thing, but this is an entertainment world. People (especially women!) do want to look up to a “hero” – someone fearless and strong.
    When he first appeared on AI, he was very young and had a totally different mindset. The teen girls found him cute and adorable, and the mamas loved him like a son, but this sort of “love” can’t go on forever.
    He needs now to take the bull by the horns and show “who’s the boss”.
    Reminds me of this song:

    But, having said that, I think he is gradually emerging from that mindset, as last year’s Xmas tour’s performances have shown.

  33. John, LOL… our guy has grown up!! He has improved tremendously both in interviews and stage performances since AI. His voice is also getting better at hitting high notes when I remembered holding my breath each time when he does that vocal range. πŸ™‚

    I think David has learned how to share stage with other performers. In this video I like how this lovely professional couple showed their respect to David and amazing teamwork with no practice prior to this performance.

    That Pigg guy has a lot to learn in terms of dueting as he was showing his off selfishness by blaring out his not so good vocal and you could see David’s confusion on how to get into the song with him. I’m not being bias here!! LOL..

  34. LOL!! Amy that video is too sexay hehe. Are you sure David wasn’t confused over something else? *nudge, nudge, wink, wink*

  35. Speaking of acapella groups have you guys heard of a British acapella group called The Flying Pickets? They had a huge hit back in the ’80s with the song ‘Only You’. This is a utube of their music video for the song with the original lineup which has changed constantly through the years:

  36. John

    Sexy? Nudge nudge wink wink?
    Were you watching David or a person of the female gender singing next to David in the vid? Lol!! πŸ˜€

    Yes I’ve heard that song on the radio on passing. Nice harmonising.
    Why are British singers always so bad-looking? 😦

  37. Akang

    Me too. I used to hold my breath and grip the arms of my chair just before he hit a high note, Or when he was stammering looking for an appropriate answer during an interview.

    Simon, just before the Finals of AI Season 7, said to Ellen Degeneres that he didn’t think David can carry an interview. (That remark could have also cost David the AI title)
    But look at him now, so relaxed and confident of what he says:

    It took him a long time maybe, but I know he will get there.

    Akang, you are right, that Piggy guy was over-singing and David just let him have his piece of 5-minute fame. Haha!

  38. W O W Z A !!!
    Another great banner – this time with a Japanese arty background!
    Is the brown planet Venus? – going past the Sun?
    Thank you John!!

    Can we rotate your many banners now and again? They’ve all been good!

  39. Thanks for the new banner. What was David thinking or feeling in this picture? (banner)

  40. I love your website and just joined the club.David is my favorite runner up idol.tryin to scan older posts.

  41. Eunice

    I think David is wondering what he is doing amongst the planets. Little does he realise that he is one of the celestial stars! Lol! πŸ˜€
    Eh John?

  42. Hi Trace!

    It was exactly this particular video of David and London Pigg that we talked about how David was graciously trying not to overpower his duet partner.
    When he sang Let It Be with Brook White, Michael Johns and Benton Paul, he did belted out his part but maybe David being his humble self would only take the cue from others to sing his heart out like as if he’s been given the permission to. In this case, he’s trying hard not to upstage his friends at their concert.

    Totally agreed with John that David should sing to the best of his natural
    ability but I think the part of him receding as a wallflower which we sometimes
    feel he does is when he sings with others. He holds his own so well during his concerts and most definitely in the recent MKOC tour.

    Oh Trace, that video of Bonnie Tyler’s song – David will be seen as a hero by lots of LDS young ladies when he comes back in 2014 as he’ll indeed be fresh from the fight except this one will be from a spiritual point.

    Just for fun, lets watch this duet πŸ˜€

  43. Hey Akang,

    You bias? Of cos not! LOL. I too noticed David looking rather confused at some parts during that duet with London. But that NA performance with Ogie and Regine was a good one. Amazing that a little teamwork and respect makes a lot of difference.

  44. Hi John,

    I have never heard of the The Flying Pickets but I do remember that song well. Used to listen to you in my younger days by the duo called Yazoo. It still sounds very nice even to this day.

    Haha, I think its safe to say David would try not to stare in that direction in reply to your * nudge nudge wink wink * comment!

    I too echoed Trace’s remark about the new banner. Though I must say I REALLY like the last one with BEGIN. LOL, so hard to please the masses but thanks so much for doing it.

    LOL John – I do remember that little AI7 interview. All I can say is David was
    still so young then and he has a hard time being in the spotlight. He has
    since learned to be so much better in front of the camera though sometimes you can still see an occasional awkward smile and mannerisms.

  45. Shirley

    That HYAMLC video is one of my favourites! Thanks so much for posting it. πŸ™‚
    You can see the audience in the background participting and really enjoying themselves. A rare view! I love to see people loving David! πŸ˜€

    I like that performance so much so let’s watch it again from another angle where you can see one of the band members fall into a faint when Ray, tone-deaf and all, tried to belt out his dueting skills! πŸ˜€

  46. John,
    LOL… what is this *nudge nudge wink wink*?! Yo, man! you should be watching the performance and not elsewhere!! Wow… thanks for another new banner! At first glance, the background looks like Utah Mountain in honour of the “giggling caveboy”! haha.. your creativity is getting better, keep it up!

    Trace,
    haha… British man ugly? haha… I think only the Flying Pickets. The band members have all kind of hairstyles in that video and it would be easy to pick one if you are in at the barber shop! BTW, I love the look of Prince Harry – he is cheeky, charisma and a very attractive young man!! πŸ™‚

    Shirley,
    That duet video of David and Ray was epic! I laughed non-stop when I first watched it and it sure bring back good old memories. I wished I was there with them at the concert. LOL..Yeap, David does have his occasional awkward smile and that what makes him endearing!

  47. Thanks Trace for the other HYAMLC video. Never ever fail to make me laugh πŸ™‚ Has got to be my feel-good video. LOL, the guy behind was kinda like rolling on the floor laughing for a while!

    Amy, didn’t we say if we’re fortunate to attend his future US concert, it will be great if we could make it to Westbury NY. The place has such an intimate feel but of cos we have to snag those front row seats too πŸ˜€

    Anyway, after that epic last show of his Christmas tour at Westbury in 2009, David went to The Today Show the next day. The two lady hosts just love him. They called him America’s sweetheart.

  48. Yes Akang and Shirley! Westbury, here we come! πŸ˜€

    Akang – no, not ugly. Just bad-looking, as I said hehe!
    “Ugly” is beyond redemption.
    “Bad-looking” is not as bad as “ugly” and can be made “better-looking” by being more “sunny” in attitude, going often to spas, using wrinkle creams…smile more like David…..anyway, what am I talking about…just rambling on with my sleepy sunday mornin’ goofiness…..

  49. Wow….holy cow! What a beautiful site!! It’s look so “Chile”, south american feel. LOL.. Nice and I love it. Thanks, John!

Leave a Reply

