27 comments on “Begin the Beguine

  1. Johhhnnn!

    I was seriously touched by this beautiful article. How do I expect to keep up with you?! 😦

    1. I feel exactly the same way about not including Forevermore as one of his albums for reasons which are obvious and I really don’t want to talk about them anymore.

    2. The very sound of the title Begin conjures up wonderful hopes in me for the album – elegant, pure, simple but bringing to mind, sophistication. No fuss, no clutter By just looking at the title, you know that David has it in him to come out with original and organic artistry.

    3. I didn’t like that song you posted simply because I’m not into that genre of music.

    4. Me too – I wasn’t born yet either when they wrote it – just in case you have your suspicions! πŸ˜€

    5. I like the title of that song though. I’ve known that the Beguine were a sisterhood of religious women but didn’t know it also describes music in the bolero rhythm – clever use of words.

    6. That poem was sadly beautiful but I hate it to have the slightest reference to David…..but I am sadly wounded to admit that there is a great measure of truth in it.

    7. I am over the moon to hear that you are ready to be bewitched again and that you await that magic and allure. I need to give you a huuuge hug!!! πŸ˜€

  2. Hey John, I am so relieved to read that you are back………
    So glad you are willing to trust David on this new album.
    I am sure he won’t disappoint us.
    Love Michael Buble’s voice but not the song.

  3. Eunice long time no ‘see’ πŸ™‚ Glad to have you back too.

    Although my flesh is willing so to speak but my head tells me to be cautious about expecting too much. It’s the bane of every artist to be able to grow artistically even for one as young as David. He’s been in the cauldron for a good 4 years or so now and I feel he must have gained some insights into the kinds of music he wants to do and the statements he wants to make. Some of the edges must have been rubbed off and some traction ought to have been gained for him to at least have an inkling of his artistic future.
    Otherwise he may want to record Tibetan chants?

  4. I am not a seasoned music fan like most of you. So I don’t know what to expect, but as long as David sings from his heart, his golden voice will carry any unpopular songs/oldies to new heights.
    I love the song,”Think of me” after David sung it during AI. Though I had attended this play (life) way back in that “Beautiful land”, I hadn’t any idea what songs were sung.
    I hope this leave of absence will allow him to discover his capabilities, and therefore will inspire him to grow and be the kind of musician he is supposed to be.
    Will just have to have faith and wait for him to emerge!

  5. Eunice

    Well said. And I’m so pleased to see you commenting, not just the occasional hello. πŸ™‚

    I’m no music expert either but what you said is indeed true – it is the heart connection we have with David that makes us want to wait for him to find, or should I say, re-find the true David, which is way up there with the stars.

    I don’t think John had really gone away as such. He was just overcome by his own disappointments with David, with whom he had placed so much confidence and expectation right from the beginning.

    This is specially for you Eunice πŸ™‚

  6. This is a great instrumental by the Piano Guys of Christina Perri’s ‘A Thousand Year’

    I wonder how David’s songs would sound like if these guys covered them?

  7. Another great post, John! You’re right, count me in as someone who is clueless to this song πŸ™‚ The minute I clicked on MB’s video, it immediately dawned on me that its one of my late father’s favourite songs. I have never known the title of the song but the melody is certainly familiar. My
    dad used to love to play this particular song each time he gets to the organ. As kids we can never appreciate his music then. My dad is also know to be quite a dancer during his younger days from the frequent comments we get from our uncles and aunties. Guessed he must have been ballroom dancing to this particular song many a times πŸ˜€ So thanks, John for bringing back the memories.

    Needless to say I am waiting with bated breath to listen to David’s next CD. At this point I have no clue what to expect so I guess its safe to say I am prepare to be pleasantly surprised. Lets all get ready to be bewitched, beguiled and bewildered πŸ™‚

    LOL John, Tibetan chants! Even if he does that and chanted all day long in some Utah caves I know at least one person who will park herself there just to listen to him and I am not talking about myself πŸ˜€

    Thanks for that Think Of Me video, Trace. Can never get tired of listening to it πŸ™‚

  8. Good morning John, what a coincidence, we posted at the same time!

    That’s a great video from The Piano Guys. Maybe David should work with them one of these days. Aren’t they from the same kampung? πŸ˜€

  9. John

    Tibetan chants for David like this one?

    Lol!

    This one is more palatable.
    I use it for my yoga.

  10. John

    Thank you for the vid of The Piano Guys. I’ve never heard this one – it is beautiful. It was indeed a great find. πŸ™‚

    I’ve been thinking of a David-song which they could cover but I have not thought of one yet. Will come back later. Can anyone think of one?

  11. Shirley

    Wow what a dandy father you had! πŸ™‚
    Do you take after him? πŸ™‚

    I am also having high hopes for Begin, waiting to be bewitched and beguiled….but am already perplexed as it is now….more perplexity will turn me into a question mark. πŸ˜€

    You have no clue as to what to expect from his next cd?
    Have you forgotten the cover of Bridge Over Troubled Waters, as Kurt Bestor has accidentally revealed?
    Haha, that should give us a clue as to what kind of music there will be in it.

    Parking outside an Utah cave to listen to David doing Tibetan chants?
    What kind of crazy cuckoo woman is that?! πŸ˜€

  12. Shirley

    You are right. The Piano Guys are from Utah as well.
    Maybe David and they know each other.

    Woohoo…more possibilities of them working together!! πŸ™‚
    The BEGINning of really good music!!! πŸ˜€

  13. Shirley good morning to you too πŸ™‚
    Your dad and I have something in common then. Normally I don’t listen to swing music but I first heard this song on the radio by accident and I became a fan. I like the melody and the lyrics. The songwriter Cole Porter is particularly skilled in lyrics, you should check out his other songs in particular “Miss Otis regrets” which is delightful and has a dark twist to it.

    Cuckoo woman: ‘Ohm mani padme ohm’

    Caveboy: ‘giggle, giggle’

    Cuckoo woman: ‘what’s the meaning of life oh Adorable one?’

    Caveboy: ‘giggle..gosh I’m not sure’

    Cuckoo woman: ‘But surely you have some idea?’

    Caveboy: ‘Listen to my new CD “Begin” and maybe you shall ‘begin’ to know oh clueless one…giggle’

    Cuckoo woman: ‘ohm mani padme ohm’

  14. If you want contemporary music coupled with chants here’s ‘Return to Innocence’ by Enigma:

  15. Woohoo! I didn’t know Uncle John is a dandy as well! πŸ˜€

    Cuckoo woman: ..ohm mani padme ohm…

    Caveboy: giggle giggle…

    Dandy: What is that cuckoo bird sayin’, Caveboy?

    Caveboy: giggle,,,dunno. Sounds like some Tibetan chant….giggle…

    Dandy: Really? I’d rather listen to your Forevermore…

    Cuckoo woman: Gotcha!!

  16. I do like Enigma with that chanting song.
    I’ve heard that on the radio many times, but never knew it was Enigma.
    I guess I just like chantings. πŸ˜€

    I was going to post some Hakka chantings but thought the better of it.
    Don’t want you guys to boot me out hehehehe..!

  17. Thank you Trace for the post, “Think of me.” Will try to drop by more often. I enjoy reading all the comments. I have learned so much from the articles posted by all of you. Keep in up!!!

    And John thank you for the lovely and serene piece of “Thousand miles”by the Piano Guys. I guessyou know how David will sound if they perform with David. Simply, “HEAVENLY”

  18. Hi Trace,

    Sadly I don’t take after my dad’s love for dancing, I have two left feet! My dad also has a very good ear for music too. Perhaps I should take up some dancing and music lessons during this down time πŸ˜€

    I think we will be in for good music if David does work with the Piano Guys one day. Oh yes, Bridge Over Troubled Water – not too crazy about this song but still am excited to hear David’s spin on it.

    BTW, have you by any chance caught Joshua Ledet singing Imagine on AI Top 3 last night? Of cos no one can compare to David’s version but I just had to laugh when I came across this tweet (not word for word but something like this)…’Only Josh Bradley can sings Imagine as good as David Archuleta’ πŸ˜€

    LOL Trace, yes that crazy cuckoo woman, I think you might know her!!!

    Hey John,

    Thanks for the suggestion of “Miss Otis Regrets” – will check it out soon. That Enigma’s video is good too. Heard that song many times but didnt know those manly sounds were called chants haha

  19. Shirley you must look up ‘Miss Otis Regrets’, it’s a wickedly clever song and being in the 1930s it’s a surprise, to me at least, that it wasn’t banned from public airing.

    Those chants in the song by Enigma is actually a recording of chants from a pair of Taiwanese aboriginals who later sued Enigma for copyright infringement when they discovered that their vocals were used without permission. A little musical trivia for ya this fine Friday πŸ™‚

    Caveboy: “Gooshh….where do they park….giggle”

    Cuckoo woman: “Whatever do you mean oh giggly one?”

    Caveboy: “So many clueless ones like you come to visit me in my humble cave so I was just wondering where do they park their cars?”

    Cuckoo woman: “Oh that’s easy! They come by Parachutes and Airplanes. They just drop in like dead flies…no problem”

    Caveboy: “Oh I see…giggle, giggle”

    Cuckoo woman: “I wish you would stop that giggling oh perfect one”

    Caveboy: “Gosh sorry I’ll try……giggle”

    Cuckoo woman: “Ohm mani padme ohm”

  20. Shirley

    Yes, you go girl, take some singing and dancing lessons during this David-downtime. They will put you on good stead at the next concert! πŸ˜€

    Lol! I love that tweet! Loads of truth in it. David and Josh own that song now! πŸ™‚

    I hardly watch AI now. And I am not bothered who wins and who loses, In fact, I believe all the Top 3 will get contracts.
    I am a little late in talking about this now – I believe Joshua was booted off last night – my maids told me haha!
    Jessica’s voice is good but she doesn’t know how to convert that singing to something heartfelt.
    Philip2 has a weird voice but gives the listeners a sort of light fun and I believe the teens will go in a big way to vote for him.
    All this is said and observed from the handful of shows I watched with 1 eye while doing something else. πŸ˜€

    Lol! I don’t think I want to know that cuckoo woman! She sounds troublesome! πŸ˜€

    You’re not keen on BOTW?! You really need music lessons! Joke! πŸ˜€
    Let me convert you Lol!!

  21. John

    I like that little musical trivia! πŸ™‚

    Cuckoo woman: Phew! Let me take a break….all this ohm mani padme ohm is exausting me!

    Caveboy: giggle….one should have more determination…giggle…and patience giggle….so where did you park?

    Cuckoo woman: Park? I walked all the way to the Utah Caves from Malaysia…oh you adorable one…

    Caveboy: Huh?

    Cuckoo Woman: you are worth it, Caveboy….you are worth it….

    Dandy: Me too….I walked too…and my old back is killing me….!!

  22. LOL… John, you’re funny!! Thanks for the lighthearted musical trivia!! After I read all the *giggling* here and boom there was our little guy giggling when I watched his short video posted by Kari. LOL…

    I do hope his US album would contains some oomphs covers unlike his Forevermore album. I like “Miss Ortis Regrets” – a simple nice song with a story line that was tastefully written unlike today’s lyrics containing f-bomb!! I guess that how those 30s songs were like then.

    Trace – LOL… Hakka chant! I don’t even know there is one! There are many artists covering BOTW and let see which version David will be using.

    Shirley – Love that sweet tweet – “Josh Bradley sings Imagine as good as David Archuleta” – very true!. My first time watching AI because of “Imagine”, otherwise, not interested. I like Philip Philips, its because of his humility shines through the tv screen like David but unfortunately he doesn’t have a good voice. Cuckoo woman,eh?! who?? πŸ˜‰

    Hello Eunice – nice to see you here! “So I don’t know what to expect, but as long as David sings from his heart, his golden voice will carry any unpopular songs/oldies to new heights” – I hope so for his US album. πŸ™‚

  23. Akang

    Tut tut!
    “Which version of BOTW will David be USING”?!
    Aiyo Akang, David will of course have his own personalised version!! πŸ˜€

    Hakka chanting? – have you heard the authentic Hakka Mountain Songs? Sounds like a sort of nightmarish chanting to me. πŸ˜€
    I dare not post it Lol! πŸ˜€

  24. Akang/Shirley

    I too like Philip2. He reminds me of David too but minus the voice.
    He has a big likeability factor.
    I think he will win since it’s mostly the teens who are voting.
    He is a sex symbol of sorts already.

    Who is this mysterious cuckoo crazy woman you guys are talking about?
    So Kiah Soo – own up! πŸ˜€

Leave a Reply

