46 comments on “My kind of perfect – Side B

  1. Just discovered this piece of music with Andrea Bocelli and the MTC – fantastic!

    I think the human voice is the greatest musical instrument ever. It can move and inspire like no other man made instrument.

  2. 😦 John

    …continuing from the last thread..

    I will not comment on your Side B until you tell me why the word “cougar” – and not “leopard” …or “she-wolf” or “sang kancil”…to describe such women –
    Why “cougar”?

  3. Interesting choices Uncle John. I like the bonus John Mayer cover at the end. I haven’t heard I am Not A Robot and Don’t Let The Sun Go Down On Me before though. hehe. Btw what happened back in April 2010 that was so controversial? I wasn’t following David then.

    Frankly I wasn’t too impressed with Who I Am. It was meant to be a song about self discovery but listening to it doesn’t give you the notion that David has actually found himself or is at least on track to finding himself. Not just yet. Am I being hypercritical?

    Falling was a commendable effort by 14-year-old David in songwriting. However I think that he was too literal in his expression of pain.
    “In my oscillating misery, I feel like the epitomy of darkness and despair just leading on to nowhere”

    I might suggest being a little more subtle with his grief. How about something along the lines of Tears In Heaven. Eric Clapton wrote it after losing his 4 year old son. When you first hear you wouldn’t be able to tell. It’s still jam-packed with emotion. Clapton stopped performing it after a while because he stopped grieving for his son.

    “I didn’t feel the loss anymore, which is so much a part of performing those songs. I really have to connect with the feelings that were there when I wrote them. They’re kind of gone and I really don’t want them to come back, particularly. My life is different now. They probably just need a rest and maybe I’ll introduce them for a much more detached point of view.” He said.

    I wish David were able to connect to his songs that way.

    The Sound Of Silence by Simon and Garfunkel is a pretty good example too.

    I would want David to experiment with some more contemporary stuff that I like to listen to. Here’s a selection:
    I Will Follow You Into The Dark- Death Cab For Cutie
    Your Guardian Angel- The Red Jumpsuit Apparatus
    Broken- Lifehouse
    What About Now- Daughtry
    Flightless Bird, American Mouth- Iron and Wine
    How To Save A Life- The Fray
    Yellow-Coldplay

    Something like that? πŸ™‚ The songs are a bit morose though

  4. John

    Amazingly sung by Andrea Bocelli and the MTC choir!
    Someone (can’t remember who) once said:
    “If God had a voice, He would sound like Andrea Bocelli.” πŸ™‚

    The only thing for me is, AB may have a beautiful voice, I think he sounds pretty much the same in most songs.
    The objective in rendering classical songs is more like singing them as beautifully as one can, but emotions are secondary, and often neglected – except in an opera.
    This one of my favourite Andrea Bocelli’s:

    About what you said re the human voice being the greatest musical instrument, I had spent the past hour looking for a “song” on YT that proves your point. I heard it many many years ago and was quite stunned by what that voice could do (you can’t even tell whether it was a man or woman) – it was just a single drum and this voice making sounds.
    I’ll try and find it again later. Or maybe it had not been posted on YT.

  5. Ah…Stomping the Roses…one of my favourites too.
    The 1st time David actually complains about something. Maybe he should have named the song Stomping the Jive haha!

    Sweet memories – see the roses we were throwing?

  6. liying

    I know what you mean by saying what you said about the lyrics of Falling, but I disagree with you. πŸ™‚

    Grief is something one can’t really have control over. Sometimes it can be so over-powering you need to “let it all come out” or “explode”. And it’s the artist’s way of manifesting the extent of his deep emotions.

    Falling may sound a little “too black” to younger people, but for older people (like ME! – and a big cougar to boot! haha!), it draws out emotions of empathy, just from having a little more of life’s experiences, which, you will agree, have alot of hard hits and ups and downs etc. πŸ™‚

    If you listen to operas, for example, may them be Western or Asian, you would probably understand what I’m talking about –
    Huge rage….poignant grief….overwhelming jealousy….etc

    Life does not consist of just sunshine and decorum. Neither does music.
    And I believe David, in this song, shows how much he connects to real life and all its traumas.

    Don’t mind me, liying…just an old mama’s way of talking to herself. πŸ™‚

    Let’s listen to the song again and its poignant lyrics.

  7. liying
    That song by Eric Clapton was heart breaking when it came out. It must have been very painful for Clapton to write these words:
    “Would you hold my hand
    If I saw you in heaven?
    Would you help me stand
    If I saw you in heaven?”

    It’s devastating for any parent to lose their child under any circumstance.

    ‘Who I am’ is a song of self-discovery which simply means that one is in the process of looking and seeing that David is still very young, I’m sure his journey has just begun πŸ™‚

    Paul Simon is an amazing songwriter. One of my favourite lyrics from Mr Simon is from his song ‘Homeward Bound’ :
    “Everyday’s an endless stream
    Of cigarettes and magazines
    And each town looks the same to me
    The movies and the factories
    And every stranger’s face I see
    Reminds me that I long to be
    Homeward bound”

    Another song ‘I am a rock’:
    “I’ve built walls,
    A fortress deep and mighty,
    That none may penetrate.
    I have no need of friendship; friendship causes pain.
    It’s laughter and it’s loving I disdain.
    I am a rock,
    I am an island”

    It’s a song of vulnerability, pain and erecting barriers around you so that you won’t get hurt by anyone. Amazing musicians πŸ™‚

  8. Trace
    I really have no idea why cougar. You’ll have to ask the yanks but I suppose cougar has the feeling of power and yet sensuality, confidence in lace, dominant but graceful, strong and yet feminine. I hope that helps to soothe your tortured soul lol πŸ˜€

  9. Hey you cougars out there! Something for you! πŸ˜€

    Is this what you do to David? Lol!!! πŸ˜€
    I think I’d rather die! Lol! πŸ˜€

  10. John

    I love those lyrics you mentioned. Simple but so profound.

    This “tortured soul” is more tortured by her fits of laughter (vid above) than by being a mild victim of “cougarism” itself! πŸ˜€

  11. haha!! – “have its way with you!”
    Poor David will have to watch this vid for survival tips hehe!

  12. HAHAHAHHA!!! I LOVE THE WHOLE “COUGAR” DRAMA GOING ON!! πŸ˜€
    Oh and Uncle John, great Side B you have there πŸ™‚ Perfect ending.

  13. Auntie Trace
    Listening to Falling, I wasn’t sure where David’s frustrations were directed at. The lyrics are all about despair and grief and I agree that they are saturated with emotion but I felt that it was a bit of an overkill. David could have used some metaphors to explore the complexity of his emotions further or to tell us how those emotions came about instead of telling us plainly that he’s depressed.

    Maybe I feel that way because I’m younger than David and more inexperienced. πŸ™‚

    Uncle John
    Tears In Heaven is a really emotional song. That’s why I like it. Clapton obviously felt more grief when writing it compared to David when writing Falling but he wasn’t as blatant in conveying his sadness. For example the title, Tears In Heaven is meaningful in itself without having to be overbearingly morose.

    I only occasionally listen to Simon and Garfunkel. One of my dad’s favourites. But when you do listen to them, you realise how profound those simple words which Mr Simon uses in his writing really are.Such as the ones you mentioned above. You don’t have to be very descriptive in your explaining a situation in a song you just have to make the few words that you do choose to use plant those emotions in your listeners. Simple lyrics are easier to understand and metaphors stand out and are easily remembered. πŸ™‚

    Poor Auntie Trace. Cougar drama. lol

  14. Liying, I agree with you that I didn’t know what was the song meaning to be talking about. I thought it was a song about someone close (family/friend) or a metaphor for something else. But I don’t think this song was discussed extensively since it wasn’t widely released. So idk.

    Auntie Trace, for some reason, I do like Falling a whole lot. I have a “special” place in my heart for dark, deep and songs that deal with depression. πŸ˜›

  15. liying

    I getcha! Good explanation! πŸ™‚

    Dark, deep, depression-loving Debz! πŸ˜€
    How do you make your smiley stick out the tongue like that? πŸ˜€
    Teach me!

  16. John

    You must include in your potentially award-winning album with David’s top song – Crazy. We all can’t have enough of it. πŸ™‚

    I specially like this vid of it by our beloved Sheba, taken in our KL show.
    You guys deserve to be hushed up by David, making all that racket! πŸ˜€

    Are they Shirley’s girls?
    Or Irda, or Debz or Liying?
    Oh, maybe it’s the cougar gang! Lol! Lol! πŸ˜€

  17. I showed that Crazy vid to my idiotic (well, she turned out to be idiotic in my mind haha!) non-fan friend, with the huge hope of converting her, but she said David sounded constipated. I could have punched her …. but then she is much much younger and has muscles…. πŸ˜€

  18. LOL you guys – what a conversation we have here, from Side B to cougars!

    Great selections for Side B, John. Have always wanted to hear a recorded version of When You Say You Love Me by David. Will always remember his oversized silver coat during the AI tour. Not to mention his red watch plus a pair of red shoes (i think?). What a hideous outfit! haha

    Not a fan of Andrea Bocelli but that rendition of The Lord’s Prayer was a fantastic performance. What a voice!

    Hey Trace, if my memory serves me well, I think you were positioned right under David’s nose during the KL concert. I’d say he’s shushing the cougar gang πŸ˜€

  19. Lol Shirley!!

    You are right – that awful outfit the AI “experts” chose for him during the AI tour – he looked like Liberace – only without the baubles. πŸ˜€

    Yes we MUST have WYSYLM (without all the screams) in your album, Uncle John! Guaranteed success for your production efforts! πŸ™‚

  20. John

    Could you also please include on your Side B – a new song from Forevermore – called
    TELL ME?

  21. I’m having fun reading all the comments here. Dissecting song lyrics to cougar attack to Andrea Bocelli to Crazy…

    Let’s continue the fun with simple lyrics, catchy music, no constipation expression, no need super high tenor vocal to sing along this song. Enjoy! LOL…

  22. John, Interesting selections for Side B. Please include one of my favourite songs in your album. Thanks.

  23. Lol Akang!

    Sugar Sugar and Adele side by side! What a combination haha!

    Let me post this before I say goodnight.
    We might consider the lyrics as cheesy now, but it was the kind of songs I used to listen to when I was a teen.

    Doesn’t it remind you of someone with dreamy eyes? πŸ˜€
    (Uncle John might even want to include it in his album! Lol!)

  24. Haha it wasn’t me making making all that racket during the concert. πŸ˜› Only made racket during the soundcheck hah.

    Ooh! I love the Archies! Man, so many musical memories in this post. Haha.

    Remember when David said his sister was singing a MAlaysian song in the choir? I wonder what song it was. Would like to hear David sing an (oldies) Malaysian song. πŸ™‚

  25. Debz

    David’s sister was singing a Malaysian song in the choir? I’ve never heard that.

    It wasn’t this one, was it?

  26. Auntie Trace
    David told us about his sister’s choir performance on twitter a few months ago.

    You know it’d be really nice if David covered Getaran Jiwa. It’s a song about music and I think it would suit his voice. If he can go and sing Nandito Ako then why not Getaran Jiwa? I actually had a vision of him singing it once. haha.

    Debz
    The stuff I listen to is pretty depressing as well. But sometimes in not directly telling people how sad you are and channeling such hopelessness in a song it makes the emotions more heartfelt and not so put on. If you know what I mean.

    I doubt it was me he was shushing during the concert. I was waaaaay at the back of the stadium. πŸ™‚ That was the first time I heard crazy. hehe :-b

    Have I said this before? I may be delusional but I thought David pointed at me that night during Touch My Hand because I was the only one holding one of those light saber things in that direction. I completely freaked out the couple seated next to me haha. And one of those RELA people pointed a baton at my head for taking pictures. Scaaary… What was it like being directly under David’s nose?

  27. liying

    Gitaran Jiwa – like this one? By our most well-known Malaysian singer/composer.

    Uncle John, would you like to include this in your ever-growing list of your album for liying? πŸ™‚

  28. liying

    Lol! We are ALL delusional when it comes to David. I’ve had so many archies telling me that he pointed at them…waved at them…winked at them…etc etc..
    Why not just BELIEVE that he did point at you and be happy? πŸ˜€

    Frankly, it’s not the best thing to be right under his nose, to be parallel with his toes.
    First, you get a neck cramp even before the end of the concert.

    Second, You keep on saying in your mind: “David David! Look at me!” but he is looking into the blasted distance.

    Third, the dust on the stage, swept up by his dancing feet, keep flying towards you.

    But there is a saving grace – you get excited thinking you can touch his hand – but then, I remember Shu and I nearly dismembered ourselves, trying to stretch to the utmost to reach his hand.

    So there you go – be in the front row at your own risk lol!
    Perhaps you were safer at the back….. πŸ˜€

    I’m glad you freaked out the couple next to you – let them think “Jangan main main dengan David Archuleta”! Lol! πŸ˜€

  29. I’ve always loved this song from my student days.
    I’m curious as to how David would sing it –

    But still don’t know what they are singing about. πŸ˜€

  30. Amy
    I love ‘Take it all’ from Adele. There’s an interesting story behind the song. After Adele wrote it she played it to her boyfriend at the time and for some reason they got into a huge fight over the song and 2 weeks later he left her! That was the very 1st song that she wrote for her album 21 and from then on she poured all her heartache, anger, disappointment and ultimately acceptance and forgiveness into the album.

    Adele’s album is so good because she explores so many facets of her emotions and lays bare all the turmoil that was going on in her life at the time of writing. It’s cathartic and allows her to vent and finally come to terms with her failed relationship and move on from there.

    I wish David would be so bold and venture into the inner corners of his life to get the same inspiration.

    Trace
    There’s one Indonesian song that I wish David would try : Kisah cintaku

  31. John and Akang

    It’s only just now that I’ve had the time to listen to Adele’s Take It All.
    OMG she practically tore my heart out with her emotional singing and lyrics!

    John, do you really really think that David has that kind of emotional background to render a song like that? – with all the tempestuously violent outpourings?

    Perhaps in a few years’ time when he has gone through more of life’s experiences but not now.

  32. My friends gave me 21 for my birthday last year. I must say it clearly deserves all the recognition it’s been getting. Take It All is an absolutely tragic song. My favourite song off the album is I’ll Be Waiting. It has a different feel to it. The least depressing song on the album in my opinion.

    Uncle John
    Speaking of Indonesian songs, have you heard Menghitung Hari by Kris Dayanti. It’s a ballad. More David-like.

    Menghitung hari
    Detik demi detik
    Masaku nanti apakan ada
    Jalan cerita
    Kisah yang panjang
    Menghitung hari

    It’s been on my mind lately since David left on his mission

    Auntie Trace
    LOL. I was prepared to get a more expensive ticket for the concert except my parents wouldn’t let me go unless I went with some friends. My non-archie friend would never have been willing to spend three months allowance on a ticket. And anyways if I did buy a VIP ticket my parents would have flipped. :-p
    My mum still can’t believe why anyone would give roses to “a little boy”. On the way home she says she overheard an “auntie” completely spazzing about David’s voice outside the stadium when she went to pick me up. Shocking experience for her. haha Was it you? O_o

    The back of the stadium was actually quite fun except that me along with another archie friend were the only ones fangirling back there. lol Glad you all had fun in the front row. πŸ˜€

  33. Oh my gosh, Trace! You know I wanted to ask David if he could sing Rasa Sayang at his concert last time, but at the time, I didn’t know if I was able to meet him/if he was able to learn it in time. :/ As for the Malaysian song that he mentioned, I don’t think he specified. Am quite curious though. Also, I’d love to hear a rendition of some P Ramlee songs from him. Haha!

  34. liying

    Moi?! – spazzing in public?! Hahaha! It must have been Uncle John spazzing behind some auntie! Lol!

    Oh yes liying, David would sound great singing Menghitung Hari!

    And it is accompanied by a cello!! πŸ™‚

    Debz
    I have a strong feeling he was talking about Rasa Sayang.
    Does anyone know?

  35. Auntie Trace

    When I saw David’s tweet about his sister singing a Malaysian song in her junior high choir, I went straight up to my grandma and started shrieking in her face telling her about it! And I told her I don’t know what song it was. The first thing that came out of her mouth was.. ” I bet it’s Rasa Sayang!” πŸ˜€
    So, I don’t know.. But I take her word for it. πŸ™‚ I’m pretty sure it was exactly. Maybe we could ask David when he comes back! πŸ˜›

    Uncle John

    Adele is such an incredible artist. I have full respect for her and her craft. She’s someone I am so glad David looks up to as a performer. She is everything that David needs to learn from, in order to get his name in the A list. People may not appreciate or recognize him that much while he has been around for the past 4 years, but I believe he’s gonna set out a lightning in a bottle when he returns.. Given credit for who he is. Original and real.

  36. Yeah, Rasa Sayang’s a pretty common/universal themed song. I’ve heard many international singers (like the ones at the Rainforest Music Festival) sing that song. πŸ™‚

  37. John,
    Thanks for the story behind “Take it All”. What I LOVE about this song is how Adele’s voice came on first before the music. She really blew me away when I first heard it. I’m pretty sure David would do this cover beautifully.

    Liying,
    That’s certainly must be Trace proudly talking about roses!! LOL… πŸ˜‰ Aww…it’s a shame you couldn’t come for the gathering this Tuesday, otherwise, you could heard lots of funny stories. Do consider.

    Adele’s two albums were about her failed relationship and let’s hope her third album would be different – happy relationship. Well, this song in her album certainly not depressing and I was surprised that she attempted a country song. Nice.

  38. Aww. I really do wanna come and meet you guys and listen to your wacky stories. If there’s a gathering in July then maybe. The furthest I’m allowed to drive by myself is from BU to Taman Tun. So far. If you all have another one downtown then I’ll drag Xin Wei along to take the lrt with me. Her degree of ODD is slightly less than mine lol

  39. hey Liying,
    I can send you home as I’m staying in DU. Do come and de-stress with us!! πŸ™‚

  40. Thank you Auntie AKang!! πŸ˜€ but my exams begin in two weeks so I really need to stay home and study. As it is I spend 15 mins a day online de-stressing haha.

  41. Amy
    That song ‘If it hadn’t been for love’ is actually about a guy who killed his wife in a fit of passion and has landed in jail because of his crime! The killing part isn’t so clearly spelled out -except for the line ‘she’s lying still’- and the fact that the protagonist is languishing behind ‘four cold walls’ is a strong hint that he did somethin’ real bad to his lover.
    It kinda fits with the theme of her album about the anguish of lost love and the consequences.

    It’s bluegrass/ country-ish but oh so nice πŸ™‚

Leave a Reply

