34 comments on “The problem with David Archuleta.

  1. John
    I love this article. It has given me an opportunity to voice out certain opinions about David’ musicality which I have hidden to myself.

    I totally agree with that fan’s comment.
    His soaring voice has a “pained” quality which would be sensational in sad, emotional ballads – like “a cry in the wilderness”. That sort of music done by him would send goosepimples all over the world and I believe that would have been his niche and trophy of success.

    Ok, I’m going to speak like a psycho-analyst. But in truth, of course I know nothing. So this is just my opinion:

    You can’t take David at face value. We know he has a positive attitude and a sunny face to match, but we have no inkling what’s going on right inside – his innermost deepest feelings. His ability to write a song like Falling (I read somewhere he wrote it by himself at a very tender age) affirms to me he has a very deep and a very dark side to him.
    It seems improbable that such a beautiful face and dorky guy can have a dark side – but of course I’m not talking serial-killers and the like. I believe his emotions run very deep. But consciously or sub-consciously, he wants to run away from it….he wants to alleviate and channel his energy towards an energy that is positive and constructive. How else do you explain such a transformation from Falling to the present happy songs? How does one explain his tears when singing Be Still My Soul? I think it’s a conscious and deliberate effort to send positive messages to his fans.

    I have quietly written a message to him in our AAM Message Book asking him if he would in the future sing a haunting melody with the sole accompaniment of the cello. If he knows any better, he should do it! 😀 That would be my “live-all die-all” moment.

    I’ve always thought that David should allow other writers to write songs for him until he has more life’s experiences. But does he listen?!

  2. John – A person who is always upbeat about everything is not unrealistic and or in self-denial. It is a choice how you want to live your life.

    Like in the movie (I know is a just a movie .. but with values) ‘A Walk To Remember’, Jamie helped Landon to become a better man by showing how important it was to help others; with her patience and kindness she showed him what life is really all about. Her cheerfulness and optimism, even in times of sickness, was the most amazing thing he had witnessed.

    I remember reading somewhere that was also one of David’s favorite movie. David certainly struggles, but he chooses to be positive and upbeat in hope that will impact others. In that sense, he is very selfless.

    On his career path, I hope he will do well too. In his time, he will discover the singer / artist that will bring him to another higher level. As a fan, I will continue to enjoy and support whatever he delivers.

  3. Of course it is a personal choice how you want to react to situations that happens in your life but we are not talking about Ahmad, Ah Kow or Muthu here. This is David Archuleta.

    It’s great to be brave and strong in the face of adversity but to remain so ALL the time and just sing about happy, rainbow songs is pretty one dimensional especially if you’re talking about an artiste. It’s too restrictive, artistically, and well pretty boring.

    Take Taylor Swift for example. All she writes about are girl-meets-boy-falls-in-love type of songs and it literally makes me puke every time one of her songs come on.

    I think it’s very ‘positive’ to address the darker moments in your life and turn it into a positive story. At least we know you’re being human and not a sugary automaton. Mariah Carey went through some troubling personal issues a while back but instead of sweeping it under the carpet and pretending it didn’t happen she came out with the song ‘Through The Rain’ and together with the music video, it was – in my opinion – one of her better songs. It felt real, it felt true and many people could relate to the message in the song.

    This is what I mean when I suggest that David should acknowledge the pain, disappointments, stresses and darker moments of his life instead of keeping them so tightly wrapped that he appears to be like an orchid as someone rather dismissively described him once.

  4. Trace I think as an artiste you do your art a great disservice if you deny half of your experiences and keep them hidden. You are much more human if you show your vulnerable side as well and not this uber positive ray of sunshine.

    It’s far more interesting to see the different facets – both positive and negative – of an artist’s nature and thought processes as expressed through his/her art. The resultant work is more real and powerful.

  5. John:

    Where’s the problem?! I don’t know about you, but when I was 20 years old I wasn’t busy thinking about sad things, mainly because my life wasn’t chock full of tragedy and upheaval at such a young age. There may be plenty going on behind the scenes, but aside from his parents’ divorce and the death of the relative you already mentioned, I’m not aware of any other major heartbreak or calamity in David’s life at this time other than his sister’s battle with Crohn’s disease.

    Another issue at stake is privacy. Until David is living on his own, I rather doubt that he would want to talk too much about personal feelings/experiences lest it appear he was airing any previously hidden family secrets. David is very protective of his family in this regard, and I admire him for it.

    I agree that David’s voice is beautifully suited for the melancholy (melodies as well as lyrics); however, I simply cannot listen to “Works For Me!,” “The Other Side Of Down,” “Your Eyes Don’t Lie,” “The Cat And The Mouse Carol” from Glad Christmas Tidings, and the Japanese bonus track “Nothing Else Better To Do” and think that those songs do not “fit” him.

    As David matures and gains more control over his artistic endeavors, I’ve no doubt we will see more of a balance – the different facets you refer to – in his work. In the meantime, I sincerely hope that the upbeat content in the majority of his songs does indeed reflect the real nature of his life and attitude. In other words, I truly hope he is that happy!

    One final thought: Americans have long been noted for their positive outlook and optimism. David is old school in this regard, and not as “sophisticated” as some of his peers who prefer to spend more time on the dark side.

  6. I am not only talking about David’s immediate family. Of course he’s happy with them just as he is with his dog, goldfish, alligator sandwich etc. And I’m not even advocating that he reveals any family skeletons in the closet. But the world is far larger than Murray, Utah and there’s a lot more going on than just visits to the dentist or barber.

    What I would like to see and hear is how and what does he feel towards those situations. Tweeting about how bad he feels about this or that isn’t very helpful. He’s just skimming the surface and flitting on to the next patch of sunshine. Sorry but in my experience nobody operates in a vacuum. You are affected by the world and situation around you. But it seems to me David chooses to ignore all that and prefers to dwell on the plus. I’m not saying that this is bad but it is a very limiting point of view and one that ultimately restricts your artistic output and relevance.

    You don’t need to be a genarian to see that there are situations that are not as positive. And being positive and optimistic is not a peculiarly American trait, I think, but I do hope that David has the capacity to look beyond the narrow confines of his immediate surroundings and feel able to express his feelings about those places and situations that may not be all happy and good.

  7. John

    It’s very possible David has suffered far more sadness by age twenty than I ever did. Many of his songs in fact refer to difficulties, but with the hope things will get better. In any case, I do not for one minute believe David pushes the unpleasant aside or is living in some kind of fantasy world. My sister has frequently pointed out that the happiest people are often the ones who have suffered the most in life. I too have found this to be the case. For example, there was a young woman I worked with in a law office several years back who was always cheerful and pleasant to the office staff, attorneys, and clients. One of the attorneys in the office mocked her behind her back and said that he thought she was phony for always maintaining such a cheerful attitude. Well, as I came to know her better I learned that things were not so rosy for her in her personal life. Still, it was natural and not artificial for her to forge ahead in such a positive manner. She was very much like David in that regard.

    I’ve no doubt David will expand the borders of his artistic vision in the future. He’s mentioned several times in his post-Jive interviews that he’s still seeking his artistic voice. Most artists spend their lives in a continual quest to define and refine their artistic output and expression. David seems to be quite keen to experience the world at large and take in the cultures and traditions of all the places he has been to as well as those he hopes to visit some day. Yeah, he realizes the world is larger than Murray, Utah. I think we have a lot to look forward to in terms of David’s artistic growth. Thank goodness he’s no one-trick pony who has already depleted his repertoire.

    By the way, I never meant to imply that optimism is confined to Americans. I brought it up it because I’ve heard so many comments over the years from people of other nations commenting on the optimism of Americans. I was simply attempting to put things in context. Apparently I failed miserably!

  8. John and Katheryn

    I understand perfectly what John meant by saying that artists should show their more vulnerable side in their work so that their paintings turn out more real and powerful. My personal experience is, whenever I paint something somewhat “darker” (like a dark grim ancient opium den for example), my critiques question my mental and emotional state and ask me “Are you ok?… why so dreary?!” – not that it bothered me very much because I just carried on painting whatever I wanted.
    In the case of David, that is probably what most people want – happy and lively songs they can dance to – in fact I have heard it mentioned many times.
    The trouble with David at this point is, he has almost edged himself into people’s expectation of him singing chirpy and happy songs.

    Perhaps I have used too strong a word earlier to describe him – that he has a “dark” side -what I meant was he is “inward-looking”. I don’t believe he is as happy and chirpy a person as we see him. It is my belief that he is “overly” (not meant in a derogative way) driven by his faith which he so staunchly holds up. His need to spread what he believes to be the Word from Above almost supercedes his need to just do music. And since he believes his ability to sing is a special gift from God, he will not sing songs that will deviate from that message. Thus the upbeat, positive, happy songs – almost missionary-like.
    But as Katheryn said, David will one day expand the boundary of his artistic vision. I am pretty positive that, given time, he will find a way to combine both his religious fervour and his growth in true artistry.

  9. Katheryn 🙂

    I knew what you meant but I also think that being positive is a mindset most people subscribe to as it helps, I agree, to alleviate the pain and hurt in most times and keeps you going when you’re up against adversity. But I do think that Americans are very straightforward and gregarious people. They say what they mean and mean what they say 🙂

    But I find artists more interesting and engaging when they are able to channel whatever that is going on in their lives – be it good or bad – into their art. It makes them more ‘real’ and I am more able to relate to them. It’s an “A-ha” moment when you hear a piece of music or see an artwork and you are able to connect because what the artist is saying has so much relevance to you personally. The message may be the most painful or the brightest but at least it came from the heart and therefore renders the message that much more poignant.

    This is what I hope for David that he is able or has the inclination to see that the world isn’t all sweetness and light and that it’s perfectly alright to let your guard down sometimes and purely be in the moment so that your art and expressions of it can flourish and grow.

    Lay people can be as “golly gee-whizz” all they like but they are not David Archuleta. I remember on American Idol when in the beginning fans were so delighted with David’s “Aw shucks” demeanor but that quickly changed as people began to wonder if he was real or putting on an act. I’m sure he lost quite a bit of supporters during the later part of the show as people got turned off. I think that is still a ‘problem’ today as a lot of fans just can’t identify with the way he is.

    Lol I think I’ve opened up another can of worms here! But I don’t mean bad when I write these things. It’s just that David is in danger of becoming boring and that would be very sad as he is a wonderful artist but the other aspect of his persona would be his undoing in the long run.

    Trace
    looks like this is a 3 way conversation between you, Katheryn and I 😦 This is the thing about Malaysians and Asians that I find most frustrating. They shy away from debates and discussion as if it was the plague! Very much like David in this case!

  10. I’ve been thinking about how Simon Cowell chastised David when he sang “Another Day in Paradise” the week after his groundbreaking performance of “Imagine” on American Idol. Simon said, “It’s all getting a little bit gloomy here…you haven’t got to keep singing sad songs. You’ve got to lighten up a little bit..show a fun side occasionally, otherwise it might get a bit depressing.” Of course, that comment was made in the context of the TV show as well as David’s young age at the time. Still, it makes me wonder how much of an influence such advice may have played up until now. I’ve no doubt the music execs at Jive were intent on crafting David’s albums to appeal to the tween and teen sets, forcing the issue as part of his contractual obligations. David himself wanted the albums he recorded in his teen years to reflect his age, but I’m sensing a more seasoned David in many of the post-Jive interviews. Something tells me he’s ready to spice things up a bit!

  11. John
    I totally agree with you that most Asians tend to shy away from open discussions. I think it’s not only cultural – the education system has also made them such. Cultural – because it’s thought to be aggro (in a negative way) if one speaks one’s mind or even have strong opinions about whatever.
    Education – because we have never been trained from school to openly discuss topics; that debates are useful tools in developing the young mind. Everything the kids know is learned from spoon-feeding.
    I even doubt everybody who comes in here actually read in detail what we are discussing. I wish more people here would come in and tell us what they think – be it “silly” or “crazy” – it’s only your opinion. Such input would not harm David, or our love for David, in any way.

    Katheryn
    I too believe David is in the process of “spicing” things up a bit. I think he has leaned from certain poor choices he made in the past and that he understands better now what works and what doesn’t.

    I too agree with John that “Americans are a straightforward and gregarious people – they say what they mean and mean what they say.” And may I add: they have a great capacity in believing in Hope for the future. 🙂

  12. Aw…take heart guys – all hope is not lost, for there are still some ghost readers out there who are just too lazy to join your discussion (like yours truly, lol).

    By the way John, I certainly don’t mind you “opening another can of worms”; it’s quite nice to see people giving different opinions about David. After all you need to know the bad first before you can appreciate the good, no? 😀

    Regarding the topic, I’m sure we can expect more “raw” music from David now that he has left Jive. I can remember Kelly Clarkson and Mariah doing the same thing with their studios, once upon a time: they were tired of being “told what to do” and sing songs that are not “them” enough, so they called it quits. Mariah came out with more RnB stuff, while Kelly recorded her “My December” album (and naturally, her sulking studio didn’t advertise it) which was her most vulnerable album to date, in my opinion.

    So what I am saying is that, with the recent hoo-hah David had with Jive, David has had enough and decided that it was time for him to create music that is more to his tastes (hopefully). Just like how Mariah and Kelly were tired of being forced to sing all those big, sky-high songs, David may also be tired of producing these happy, upbeat, rhythmic songs that are ever so common in the pop genre.

    I don’t know about you guys, but it’s a habit of mine to read professional reviews of albums. I remember a reviewer who said that TOSOD should’ve been published as David’s first album because it shows a more matured him; however, the current David is way more matured now and so TOSOD came too late. What I’m hoping is that David’s following album will be more suited to his experiences, instead of being suited to what producers THINK we want.

  13. Very interesting discussion you guys have here. I don’t know if I’ll have much to add. Just finished my readings for university and my head’s getting dreary.

    I do agree that David is currently spicing things up…experimenting with music here and there and finding his style, which is the reason why his voice does not “fit” the happy songs. But I do believe that he has this very deep understanding of emotions and the soul, which enables him to perform songs with “painful (almost like a cry) type of voice” because he is so passionate about it.

    Having shared a few emotional experiences similar to David’s and as an artist as well, having encounter such situations that brings sadness makes you want to release it somehow; for David’s case through singing. And knowing the values David heeds to, you don’t want anyone else to feel the same way you did. But ultimately, I’m just assuming, because I don’t know how he is really feeling or experiencing day to day.

    This may be just my opinion, but I believe that what David is doing through his songs is to share his problems with people who may happen to share those problems; without saying that he has those problems. I don’t know if that makes sense, but that’s what I feel from his songs.

    But I don’t think this necessarily means that he is not fit to sing happy songs, maybe he hasn’t found the right style for it yet….whatever the style may be. And of course, it’s always healthy to keep a balance of happy and sad, otherwise you’d have depression.

    Not sure if this even relates. It’s 3am and I still have some readings to do.

    On an unrelated note, in response to the education system: I completely agree. I never spoke in my primary or secondary school class room unless I was told too. we even had the “nama budak bising” list for talking in class. Though, I’m not sure how the current classroom works. Here in Canada, I’m expected to respond or give my thoughts, which is a bit difficult and would need to work on because I never thought of things deeply and only took what was given.

    I’m studying how communication works and how the media works, who is controlling the media and how it controls the structure of politics, the public and culture. Hopefully I will get to do research on Malaysian media and how it effects the citizens. 🙂

  14. Hey Zach!
    Me too – I appreciate the fact that John consistently opens up cans of worms to provoke our thoughts.
    Having ghost readers is one thing but we also need to respond to and comment on articles posted on this site. “Feeling lazy” to comment is, I think, not helping this site to carry on. What if the writers say “oh I’m too lazy to think of something to write….” what will happen to this site?
    What we need is more interactive discussions.
    Ahem…..No.1 geypo…that’s me….but I would hate to see AAM go into the doldrums. 😦

    Zach I like your comments and I agree with you what you said.

  15. Trace and John,
    I very much agree with you. Most Asians are not comfortable with having open discussions due to education and culture; it is very much different compared to the Caucasians.I think it is also due to the fact that nobody really is allowed to speak their mind out here in Malaysia about politics, religion ect or we might end up in jail or a serious penalty whereas, in America people are more opinionated and straightforward because they are allowed to say whatever they want and voice out. Even in school, we are usually taught to “shut up, sit and listen”. This is why we don’t just meet someone and have a deep, meaningful, genuine conversation. Most of us create a bubble around us and someone has to enter it in order to truly get to know us. I’m so glad you’ve posted this, John; It did get me thinking.

    Do you know that david wrote falling at the tender age 14 years old? I wonder what was he going through at that point of time to write such a song. There’s definitely more to David then this happy persona then we think he is. After all, David is only human and it would be unrealistic to think that David does not have a darker side. But if do you realize, David ended his depressing song with something optimistic:

    There could be something more
    To what my life may have in store
    I’ll move from where I began
    Keep on pressing through to the end

    He ends it with something positive; He ends it with hope. David possesses such maturity; He is most definitely a deep thinker and reflector.

  16. Emily, Zach and Debz muaaahhh!! 😀 😀
    I love u guys 🙂
    Thanks so much for your thoughts. It’s great to read differing views cos you learn from them as well.

    “Falling” is an amazing song to come out of a 14 year old. That’s why I’m so surprised with the song. And yes he did end it on a positive note and that’s what I’ve been talking about: that he dared to even approach the subject in a song and gave it a positive twist. All at 14! It’s obvious he’s pretty much a clam when it comes to private matters in his life but in that one shining moment at 14 he opened up a bit and the result is a great song! My question is what happened to that David? What happened to the bravado and daring to take the chance on writing such a song?

    David definitely has the soul and empathy for deeper reflections about life and the ability to articulate on it’s many complexities but I don’t hear that in his newer songs. It’s all fluff and saccharine sweet which is a pity because I know he’s capable of more than that.

    Thanks so much for your input guys. It makes the writing that much more fulfilling. Please don’t think that you have to agree with everything I post. That’s not why I write or for that matter any AAM-er who contributes. We value your thoughts and we want to read them. Even if you think that it’s all horse dung, comment and tell us why you think so.

  17. I am so pleased that Zach, Debz and Emily have given some deep thought to their comments! Bravo! Uncle John will now go to sleep tonight with a smile on his face.
    With you guys responding like this, there is little chance that AAM will fly from cyberspace to outer-space. 😀

    And here is more “horse dung” from me John. 😀
    Nothing has happened to that Falling David. He is still there. Right inside. He has gone through so many transitions the past 3 years and more, so he is probably a little confused as to what it is he should do so that it is the best thing for him and for the fans. He will find his real self again sooner or maybe a little later. And I know I’ll be waiting – and you guys too, I bet!

  18. Late to the party but interesting convo. I do agree with you John that I would like to hear songs with a lot more depth and maturity. I remember being a teenager and having all these feelings and emotions amplified because I was still learning, growing and struggling with context. The best escape for me was just putting on my headphones and getting lost in a song that I could channel those feelings and emotions.

    The thing with David is that his voice is tailor made for those types of songs.

    I think it was Kara Dio Gardi (sp?) that said that David doesn’t just sing a song, he cries it. And I have to agree with her, because the way David can emote a song really belies his happy and positive nature. It’s a talent that not a lot of people have and IMO its something that really sets him apart even from other vocal greats.

    So yes, I would love to see him explore a deeper, darker side in his music if only because it would be great to see that aspect of his talent being utilised to a fuller potential.

    Having said that, TOSOD, I think is a GREAT follow up to his first album. I say this because I believe the growth and progression from DA the album, felt very real and very organic. I think David himself said in an interview that he didn’t want to all of a sudden jump from point A,B, C and all of a sudden be at point X, Y, Z or something and I think that’s a very valid point.

    One thing I’ve learnt since following David is that he will do things when he feels ready to do it, otherwise the music that will come out of him will seem contrived and there would be a disconnect between him as a person and his music.

    I also think David is aware enough to know that that is where his music should eventually be headed, i.e. a deeper and more mature sound and but like he himself said, the progression should make sense.

    I guess the only question is will the fans be patient enough to wait?

    Like Trace rightfully guessed, I will certainly be sticking around 🙂

  19. My, my, this is a deeeeep discussion! I wish I have the energy to put in my 2 cents now. But I love this discussion! Keep it coming and we’ll keep the site alive and on fire!!!

    Wish David can read this great article.

    Got to go ….goodnite! 🙂

  20. Sheba
    It’s Kara Dioguardi and she provided harmony on David’s “To Be With You”

    I agree that TOSOD is a good and more mature sound compared to his debut album. It’s more David I guess but still overall too sweet for me other than the occasional angst. But I guess it’s a transition of sorts, a discovery phase of what he should sound like.

    So yeah I guess we’ll have to be patient because he tends to move at the speed of snails 🙂

  21. What makes me often despair about my culture and Western culture in general is the lack of civility that has crept in to almost every facet of life. So while I love the fact that my fellow citizens and I have the freedom to voice opinions on social, political, and religious topics without fear of government intervention or intrusion, it’s not always done in a way that’s conducive to thoughtful interchange. One of the reasons David is so appealing to me is because of his politeness and civility. John has indicated that David is often politically correct in his responses to questions, and I agree with that assessment. However, David has to tread carefully in this regard. Why risk possibly alienating a portion of your audience and/or some in control of the entertainment and media biz? As I recall, David once said he avoids talking about sports and politics. Smart man!

    It’s a credit to Asian culture that it has managed to hang onto a higher level of civility than those of us in the Western hemisphere, and I’m impressed with the greater degree of respect David generally receives from Asian media. Comments and questions tend to be more thoughtful and certainly more courteous than what he encounters in the United States most of the time. While some of you in Malaysia may struggle to give voice to your inner thoughts and feelings, please know that this American (and many others I might add!) can learn a lot from the civility and grace you bring to the conversation. I feel very much at home here at Archuleta Avenue Malaysia, and very honored to be accepted as an Archiekin!

  22. Sheba
    Love what you said.
    David, if he continues to move like a snail, like what John said, will probably lose some fans in the long run (like he has lost a great many already) but he will also gain more when his “himself” music (and definitely better) comes out. On top of that there are diehard fans like you and me, and many, many others. So I don’t think we should be overly worried. 🙂

    Eunice!
    No sleep permitted until you come back and give us your 2-cents! 😀

    Katheryn Archiekin
    You are “family” and very much loved here. 🙂

    I would like to discuss your last paragraph: It holds a great deal of insight into the difference of both our cultures. David, being the person he is, probably feels very at home here in Asia, not just because of the great love we have for him and his music, but also the genuine respect and admiration we have for what he stands for and how he has carried himself.
    In tune with what you said, let me tell you something about my thoughts: I was unconsciously comparing his Asian tour performances with that at the Constitution Fair. I was a witness at both Manila and KL Live – he was completely relaxed – body moving and swaying to the rhythm of the music – flirtatious eye contacts – he was totally comfortable. His performance at the Fair recently made me feel that he was rather restrained in his body movements. He did not kick and do the “1 foot front of the other” dance movement almost like he was holding back.
    You know the proverb “that a prophet not being recognised in his own country” – do you think this is part of David’s struggle in the States? – that he is more self-conscious when he is performing there?

  23. Trace
    You have an interesting theory here. I haven’t watched the Constitution videos but I think David somehow feels like he’s still being judged in the US whereas in Asia he’s unconditionally loved by his fans and therefore is able to be more relaxed and open.

    In the US there’s such a breadth of entertainers that one can feel quite inadequate in the face of such flamboyance and flair. Maybe he feels he doesn’t measure up? Maybe he thinks that the crowd isn’t fully there for him? The comparisons can be quite daunting. Coupled with his natural awkwardness and reticence, I guess it’s understandable for him to be more inhibited on stage.

    Katheryn
    I quite agree with you on the civility part. I find Westerners overly aggressive in the way they present their views.They adopt a distinctly in-your-face attitude and seem to revel in confrontation. Any thing less is seen as a weakness and will be dealt with summarily.I may be wrong in my assessment because it could be a case of too much American TV where the characters are invariably pushy and dictatorial. “It’s my way or the highway” mentality and nowhere in the interaction is there any consideration given to politeness and civility. Although this trait may not be entirely confined to the Western Hemisphere as friends who have visited Hong Kong can testify to the same brusqueness in the people there.

  24. Music has the power to convey emotions. Yes, I must agree that I can totalllyyyy feel the energy at both David’s concerts in Malaysia and he can feel it too; enthusiastic fans who genuinely admire him and are eagerly waiting to here him sing. I think that makes him feel more comfortable.

    Katheryn; I must agree on that. Asian media are more respectful to his private life and less straightforward in asking him questions therefore, making David feel more comfortable.

    Oh my, Trace, do you study psychology or something? hahahha.

    This is completely unrelated but, hey, do you remember those days when we had a chat room? where is it now?

  25. John
    You have elaborated my theory right on the nail:
    “…he feels he’s still being judged in the US whereas in Asia he is unconditionally loved…”
    “maybe he feels he doesn’t measure up….”

    The audience at the Constitution Fare was a good 10,000 – but it was a festival of sorts – not everyone was there for David although I can imagine that there was a huuge number – and David once said: the crowd would scream at anything……so his natural modesty (plus point) and his not fully developed confidence (minus point) can make him feel rather inadequate in performing there.
    I read that one of the organising authorities remarked before the actual day: “This is a fair celebrating our Constitution, it is not a David Archuleta concert” – probably witnessing all the emails and response about the Fair. To a certain degree, I can understand this guy’s standpoint but would he have made such a statement if the drawing star is a singer like MJ or Beyonce or…..etc? People are always rather reticent in acknowledging his worth – which of course infuriates me!

    HK is a different story John. The people there are so busy and so rushed making money that they have no time to deal with people they cannot make money from. 🙂 Their worlds are so small and their minds so restricted to their own limited sphere that they can’t easily see beyond a certain point. I personally have never encountered problems of any kind with them because I can imitate their lingo pretty well so they think I’m one of them. But their minds are probably more open now. I’ve never heard about HK having great fans of David. Are they existent? 🙂

  26. Lol woah, Aunt Trace. Strong words on the HK-ers! Though, I don’t necessarily disagree with you; I’ve been there several times and each time I get appalled by the rush the people seem to be in. Their drivers probably don’t know what “patience” means – a momentary halt in traffic, and they’ll blast their hooters like there’s no tomorrow.

    And regarding David’s er…more spirited performances in Asia, perhaps he has a bit of…(for a lack of better word) bias for his Asian fans? There could be a possibility that he feels inclined to put on a better show for the fans who only get the chance to see him once a year (if even that), versus those who get the chance to see him live all year round.

    Or it could be a combination of fan bias+society’s ideals that resulted in the difference. What do you guys think? 🙂

  27. Oh! Oh! I don’t know if anybody found this, but there’s Galaxie posted a wee bit more of David: http://galaxieblog.com.my/blog/permalink.asp?id=4653

    And it certainly gives us much to think about!
    “The inspiration, I guess the best way to describe it is what’s on my mind.” It can only mean that he’s ready to produce more vulnerable music – more him, more of his story (well, hopefully).

    “I never really got to understand the…more technical side of music” – means he’ll eventually go into all the vocal technicalities that I have an obsession over! Good news, that. 🙂

  28. Zach- regarding David’s more “spiritual” concerts here, I think it’s because of the fact that we’re international whereas America is home and he’s fimiliar there as to the big superstar here. He can’t come here often, due to it being a lot of work (as I recall Jeff saying it is difficult to set up an international tour even for the even bigger celebs) and therefore he would want to make an impact so he can make it a memorable concert for the whole country.

  29. Zach; maybe he means instruments and stuff? Sorry to burst your bubble but, in his book, he did mention his mom going for a vocal seminar and helping him with his vocal technicalities and also, visiting a vocal teacher. In AI, they get coaches too…

  30. @Emily: I know he already knows those stuff, but in the interview with Galaxie, David mentions his interest in going deeper into technicalities. That can only mean better vocal performances, which is always a plus. 🙂

  31. Trace

    I haven’t had time to watch the Constitution Fair videos yet, so I cannot comment specifically on whether or not David’s performance was more restrained than during his Asian Tour. As for the foot kicking dance movements he does during TOSOD, I do know he did that for New Year’s Eve on Fox. In fact, his performances of “The Other Side of Down” and “Elevator” were outstanding that night, especially when you consider he had to overcome frigid temperatures as well as the pressure of singing live for a national TV audience.

    It’s very possible that David feels more self-conscious performing in the USA, but he really shouldn’t. Those who attend his shows do so because they have chosen to, as beautifully illustrated by the rather snotty comment from the fair organizer who was more than a bit peeved so many were there just for David. I think as David is able to put more distance between himself and American Idol he will not feel quite so judged. Frankly, I’m looking forward to it leaving the air so that people will be less likely to associate him with the show. He was too good for it in the first place, and for it to have any negative impact on his career irks me to no end.

    John

    Believe me when I say most Americans are nothing like the characters you see on TV! In a desperate effort to regain dwindling audiences, American TV shows have too often become brash, raunchy, tawdry, and…well you get the picture. These shows are typically written, filmed, and produced by people who have little patience for traditional values and old-fashioned good taste. Rather than having hundreds of cable channels to choose from, I think most of us would rather have quality, tasteful programming. It’s always a comfort to me to know that G-rated films are still the real money makers in the U.S., despite the fact they produce so few of them. I shake my head in amazement at the stupidity of Hollywood. I also blame them in large part for the downgrade of civility in our society. Their trashy shows and films have brought to the mainstream what used to be on the outskirts of society. Of course, anyone who chooses to consume this type of entertainment is also culpable; however, I tend to liken the entertainment moguls who produce the trash to drug dealers, and the audience who consumes it to junkies. To my way of thinking, those who provide the junk are more guilty.

    Believe me when I tell you I’m no prude. I just happen to hate gratuitous violence and sex as well as foul language thrown in for no apparent reason. I’ll take a well-crafted Alfred Hitchcock film allowing for the imagination to fill in the blanks over a cheap slasher film any day.

Leave a Reply

