25 comments on ““……As we all fly awaaaaayyy”

  1. There’s so many artists i would love to hear David duet with..but one of my top choices are Rascal Flatts and Sara Bareilles. Love both their voices and music and gah imagine David singing a mind-blowing duet with either one would slain all us fans lol.
    -A.

  2. Adele! These two big voices together. Man. That would seriously rock! Please let this happen one day hopefully (and soon!!!) #dreamcometrue

  3. Sara Bareilles and Adele!! That would be oh my gosh so awesome! It’s so hard to choose from those duets! I like all of them. But if I’d to choose it’s to be with you ๐Ÿ™‚

  4. Hi Anne

    Good post! You got me there – I had to think quite long and hard before I could come up with an honest response. That vid did little for me because I felt it was a song closer to Cook’s style although I must say David did a pretty good job.

    For me, David has a unique voice that needs little dressing up, let alone be clouded by another voice. When our David sings, he gives out a different kind of energy that many singers do not match up to. However, this particular duet actually freaked me out in a beautiful way:

    But if you were to hold a gun to my head ๐Ÿ˜€ and force me to choose someone to duet with him, I would probably say: Adele. I think David’s voice and Adele’s will be able to meet quite effectively especially when D lays bare his soul as in Crazy.

  5. I’m old school so I would pick Karen Carpenter.

    Ms Carpenter had one of the most amazing vocals in the industry. Smooth and mellow, she sang in a lower pitch voice more so than the usual female voice but it was highly intoxicating. She didn’t need pyrotechnics nor pyroclastic flows of vocal gymnastics. Just pure, emotive singing. Much like David.

  6. As for past duets I pick Miley.

    Haha I can hear the collective gasps of indignation from all of you! ๐Ÿ™‚
    I think ( even though we think Miley can’t hold a candle to David when it comes to singing ) their voices blended very well on their one duet. I was actually surprised at how good they sounded on the song.

    That’s the trick with duets. You must pick two voices that really complement each other well no matter what they sound like as individuals.

  7. Ah yess a David/Adele duet would be mind blowingly awesome too!

    and oooh trace,Orla Fallon!!!How can i forget that one! chills and more chills!

    John, LoLL i had a (silent) gasp of surprise at your choice david-miley choice hahaha! But you’re right, two voices that really complements each other well regardless of how they sound individually is the key to a great duet. Some duets really surprised me because sometimes the artist alone doesnt sound great,but coupled with someone else, he/she could sound fantastic. but i believe that in the case of a David-someone duet, he would never need that instead he’ll make the OTHER person sound better ๐Ÿ˜›

  8. Yes, I love Karen Carpenter too! Too bad she isn’t available, otherwise David and Karen will make a great duet.

  9. Q1: little xmas with Ray. That duet was a real fun and unexpected!! Still giggling thinking of it.

    Q2: Joss stone. She has a soulful voice that might make a good duet. I should call her the “duet queen” as she has duetted with so many artists in the past. Her latest is “Miracle Worker” with a group of superheavy artists.

    Agreed, David/Adele duet would be incredible but afraid Adele’s strong vocal might over-shadow David’s. Just saying. Anyhow, I still want to hear them both together! ๐Ÿ™‚

  10. John!
    A David-Miley duet?! NO NO NO!!!!!!!!!!!! (My share of “gasp of indignation!) ๐Ÿ˜€
    They sounded ok in their duet only because David, being David, deliberately “came down” to her vocals to complement her. Didn’t you notice the way his voice sort of stayed in the background so that she would have an opportunity to shine? – afterall, it was HER show. (whether she did or not is another story) ๐Ÿ™‚

    Karen Carpenter would be a good choice – I concur with that.

    Anne
    Totally agree with your last paragraph – that’s why I think David “made the other person sound better”. ๐Ÿ™‚

    Akang
    Yes, I loved Ray duetting with him and I watch that vid often. It tickles me pink. ๐Ÿ™‚ But it’s only for Live entertainment. Putting them together in an album would be a disaster!! ๐Ÿ˜€

    Uh-uh…. David’s voice will stand up to Adele’s – I’m sure of that – no worries! ๐Ÿ™‚

  11. Hi Anne, thanks for this post…lots of interesting thoughts.

    Q1: I am with Akang – that little Christmas duet with Ray never ever fails to put a smile on my face. Totally unexpected and hilarious especially the part where they try to outdo each other. Yes, Trace cant put that duet in an album but a live Christmas album with that funny duet in there would be priceless haha

    OMG Trace! thanks for bringing back that lovely Christmas duet with Orla
    * goosebumps * Have to go back and watch that video again. Now that I am in a Christmas mood, cant wait to get my Motab cd/dvd!

    Q2: Without a doubt – ADELE! I think Adele will be as mesmerized with David as did Orla ๐Ÿ™‚

    What a coincident, I was just listening to David’s Cambio Chat last night (that’s the chat he did last Nov while still with Melinda) and in answer to a fan’s question for him to sing, he immediately broke out in that Carpenters’ song Sing. Then he mentioned a few other songs by the Carpenters and I was thinking how great if David were to cover some of their songs. Hence, i concur with John, a duet with the golden voice of Karen Carpenter would be amazing too.

  12. Q1: Definitely Apologise. That was awesome. I felt like it was more Apologise by David Archuleta (feat. one Republic). Love his intense face when he sings it.XD Not a big fan of Miley btw *cringe*

    Q2: My dream David duet would be with ME. Just kidding (not really, haha) I would love David to sing with Adele. Her music is beautiful and David thinks so too. or how about Christina Grimmie. She can sing and write. Maybe Pitbull if he wants a collaboration a rapper. Nah…

  13. i like to see him singing with Linkin Park….hohoho…it’ll be awesome! aha…

  14. Shirley Anonymous
    Oh yes! I can’t wait for my MOTAB cd/dvd to arrive!
    I hope everyone has pre-ordered it?!

    liying
    You wanna duet with David? Can be arranged. ๐Ÿ˜€

    Just an idiotic thought : Wouldn’t it be lovely if all the members of AAM could duet with him? I must go eat some pad thai now to strengthen my vocal cords for the event! ๐Ÿ˜€

  15. lovely post Anne ๐Ÿ™‚
    Q1 : Apologize
    Q2 : Adele (phwooaarrr) & i love Karen Carpenter too , What about Eminem ? would be an interesting collab however may have artistic differences on lyrics used ehehe

  16. I would totally agree that Adele is the best choice if we, fan are given the chance to make a selection.

    I think her voice will blend well with David’s voice!!! ๐Ÿ˜€

  17. Eminem?!! lol

    That’s a radical choice foh sho! But highly unlikely ๐Ÿ™‚
    David would prolly giggle all the way with embarrassment while recording in the studio with Eminem hehe

    “Yo David watcha doin there giglin like that! I’m tryin to sing here”

    “Eh…*giggle*, *giggle*, giggle*”

    “All right that’s it….I can’t work like this! Yo Jeff wasa matter witcho boy there?!”

    End of short lived collaboration between David and Eminem ๐Ÿ™‚

  18. HAHA john i can totally imagine that conversation taking place,with real voices and all rofl.

    And oooh farida &li ying..APOLOGIZE.i LOVE that one too how can i forget that! which reminds me of those he covered live…oooh chillssss!

    trace,i think he’ll be giggling at all us fans instead of singing with us in the end xD

  19. Trace if you guys could arrange duets between fans and David that would be friggin’ amazing!! But of course I’d be too stunned by his total awesomeness to be able to say anything let alone sing. =b

  20. Did I see a Linkin Park suggestion lol! Totally didn’t think of that but I actually just saw their cover of Rolling in the Deep on youtube and they absolutely KILLED IT!! So yeah, D and Linkin Park would be a truly unexpected duet but man, that would be pretty awesome to see! Thanks for the suggestion Izzati.

    John, if David ever does a duet with Eminem, I want ‘behind the scenes’ and ‘the making off’ vids lol!

  21. You guys are very contemporary :p

    I agree that Cook’s duet with David was more suited for Cook. Well, the story behind that, (not sure if you guys know it) is that Nigel Lythgoe was going crazy thinking of a duet for the two of them, and could not settle on any choices. It was a few days away, and they still had nothing, so Cook pulled out his guitar and sang to David. They ended up liking it enough that Nigel let them do Hero.

    On that note, I’d love for them to write together and duet. MY LIFE WILL BE MADE, FOR SRS.

    Favorite duet… hmm… Lean on Me, Sioux Falls, with Ashley. It’s so bare and has that organic feel to it. =)

    Dream duet… besides Cook, ha, would be… someone called Ryan Star (v=ma2nfetVV-s) or Andy Skib (v=XQLOkBqoqtM) both of whom possess edgy lower registers.

  22. ah the duet with ashley!Great choice and good memory jamesy,totally forgot abt that one โค

    Ryan Star..heard his name before but for the life of me,cant rmbr how..lol

    -A

  23. How about duet with Colbie Caillat. I love her duet with Jason Mraz โ€˜Luckyโ€™. Also with his mom, Lupe. They blend so well together singing the spanish song “a puro๏ปฟ dolorโ€ at Mentorโ€™s International Gala 10/8/10 .. oh, he can salsa too:-) *shake it David*!

    Shu Yee

Leave a Reply

