16 comments on “Heaven is a place on Earth

  1. John
    What a lovely recap of your experience and observation of our Little Prince of Song! I applaud you.

    “For here was a man who stomped. growled and confidently stalked the stage from end to end teasing and cajoling the crowd into a frenzy.”

    “No falling back on percussion, guitar licks to hide vocal missteps.”

    I can’t agree with you more that David has grown into a fascinating musician and performer….and still growing. His musical and performing skills have improved by leaps and bounds. We can only hope and await with bated breath, for his return to this region so that we can revel in the joy of his presence on the stage again!

  2. Yay John you made a recap! Thank you!! Man you certainly have a way with words and I could not agree with you more. His performance skillz has improved by leaps and bounds since AI and he is getting more and more relaxed and comfortable on stage. I love it! He owned the stage that night and the performance aspect of the show is beginning to reach the crazy level of his stellar vocals and the combo of the two is just out of this world! Whats more though is that he is still growing and improving, It’s like when he sings that line in I’ll Be where he says “I’ll Be Better When I’m Older”. Oh man. If his this good now, I can’t imagine how he’ll be several years from now! But, I’ll certainly be sticking around to find out 🙂

  3. You’re right Sheba, he was totally relaxed and at ease on stage. I think that’s the main difference in him now. He believes and accepts that he belongs there and that comes through in his performance.

    No more judging, criticisms ( except from industry critics of course ) to bear down on him. If only record producers can capture that kind of freedom and confidence in the studio. Maybe next time now that he’s slowly finding his own voice – then he can tell producers what HE wants on the CD.

  4. Hey John,

    Thank you! Thank you for your recap! I gave been waiting since I reached home on that night!!! I know you folks were still over at Hilton.
    Yes! as you have said it all, he has definitely polished/refined in all aspects.
    Amazing night!

  5. Hi Trace,

    So lovely to meet you. You are fun to be around.
    You have so much energy. You almost knocked me off my feet when you started stomping and jumping! Hahaha! It was fun!

  6. Sheba,

    Thank you for the videos. Please thank your sister too. Wish I had said Hi to her!

  7. Hey Eunice!
    It was lovely meeting you too – now I can put a face to your name haha!
    Did I really stomp on your rose-bud feet? Apologies lol!! When David is singing especially Live, I am totally oblivious as to my surroundings!
    Make sure you come back to KL again when David returns (hopefully in the near future – maybe his next album?). We can then stomp and jump together-gether! 😀

  8. Hey Sheba
    You are right! I love him singing I’ll Be……. I’ll Be Better When I’m Older…. he will be like vintage wine – strong and full-bodied …ahem!) 😀

  9. John, like u said, i ‘m still on a high and the scary thing is he will get better….Lord help us all

  10. Hey John,
    Thanks for your recap. I’m sure everyone who went to his concert the other night agreed to what you have said above. I noticed that he doesn’t need to drink water after each song like before in his home country. I guess it was our humidity weather. I, too, was surprised to Everything and More. It’s a very lovely sweet song.

    Let wait and see what his future holds ~ his 2nd phase of his music career – new sound?

  11. love the recap john!

    the moment he sang heaven,i just stood there speechless..remembering the first time he sang heaven on AI and here he is,3 years later..right infront of us. i felt like a real proud mama that time. gah.

  12. Farida – So right .. Lord help us all haha! I was so Archudrunk after the concert that I have forgotten what songs he sang! Cos when Jeff asked about MKOP and I actually asked .. ‘did he sing MKOP’ .. oh boy! Thank God Jeff was understanding.

  13. Hi John,

    What a wonderful recap. Thank You!

    I stood there in awe looking up at him, trying to take in every moment and couldnt believe that I was there. It was so surreal. At one point I moved up the line to where you and Trace stood. You were such a gentleman to offer me a spot in front but I was fine as I can see him so clearly from where I was. He was singing MKOP at that time.

    Hey Farida, totally agreed with you…indeed we need help haha

    Thanks for all the laughter and the fun. It was so great to meet you all again.

  14. thank you for the recap! you described everything perfectly! 😀

    “I never saw this level of command and energy in his earlier tours. It was simply breathtaking!”
    I’ve been completely floored by his new energy, ever since the Myrtle Beach performances! He was already giving so much in his previous shows, but since Myrtle Beach I noticed he’s been putting in even more!! Insaaaaaane.

    “No more judging, criticisms ( except from industry critics of course ) to bear down on him. If only record producers can capture that kind of freedom and confidence in the studio. Maybe next time now that he’s slowly finding his own voice – then he can tell producers what HE wants on the CD.”
    I really really hope this will happen for his next record, whenever it may be. Am totally willing to wait! 😀

Leave a Reply

