35 comments on “Hiatus

  1. Dear AAM

    I have a whole load of fluctuating mixed feelings to unload after reading this latest entry. Before I go into details, let me sum them up in a humongus S.I.G.H……!

    First, I laughed. At the humour of this article.

    Then, I was sad. And also a little angry. Yes indeed, David has bypassed us again. If you look at a school atlas, Manila is only 2″ away from Malaysia. A short flight of 4 hours, at the very most, would have landed him here at KLIA where he received his biggest welcome of all time.

    Then, I became nostalgic. The newspapers were filled with his news during his stay here in Malaysia…..the radio stations were playing his songs and broadcasting his interviews almost all day long….and, to top them all, Sunway was bursting at the seams with thousands of people screaming and singing along with him, and with at least another thousand outside the auditorium begging to be allowed entry. It was chaotic. But I had the best time of my life. And so did the others. And so did David too – he looked so happy.

    I was convinced he would come back to give us a concert.

    When I met him in Singapore with Shuyee and Sheba, and there were Shirley and Jennie as well, each one of us pleadingly reminded him many times to come back to Malaysia. I am sure there were others as well who gave him the same message. And his response was always “Yes I want to come…..I will come soon….”

    I don’t blame you for feeling slighted. I feel it too.
    But love knows no bounds.
    I have to bow my head (but with a smile on my face) and head for Manila.
    If the mountain does not come to Mohammed, Mohammed will have to go to the mountain.

    There could be all kinds of reasons why David is not able to come to Malaysia yet, that which we have no way of knowing at the present moment. He cannot have forgotten us. How can the memory of KLIA and Sunway be not embedded solidly in his mind?

    So all I can say to you, dear AAM, is to ask you to keep the torch for him, burning.

  2. Trance and Malaysian fans- Don’t be sad or worry, David love Malaysian fans, I assure you, he love all his fans whether it is from US or Asia. Maybe because David was not invited by a Malaysian sponsor or producer of concerts, that’s why he can’t visit Malaysia. Indonesia has sponsor which is Ponds that is why David will be able to go to Indonesia. And in Manila there is a producer of the concert who invested in David, that producer is well know foreign concert producer in our country, they also send Taylor Swift in Manila last Feb., that’s why we will have David concert because of Ovation Production, so we really are thankful for the producer which make it all possible. I know if David only have Malaysian sponsor for his show , I’m sure he will go to Malaysia. David was suppose to go to Vietnam too, but the producer of Vietnam back out due to not an expert in producing a show, so I guess if David couldn’t come , it means that he don’t have sponsor or producer of the show.
    David show in Manila is huge, a seating capacity of 25,000, Filipino fans are welcoming Malaysian fans and other asian fans to visit Manila, it will be a lot of fun, so if you have time and come visit Manila and watch David full concert.

  3. Hi AAM – Thanks for this post. Just like Trace, I laughed at the beginning and then of cos I am disappointed that no date has yet been fix for Malaysia. He’s still having meetings so I hope they are working on more tour dates for Asia.

    Hey Trace – you lucky girl, you!!!! So excited for you. You are going to have one heck of a good time come July 18 πŸ™‚ If by then its confirm that David wont be coming to Malaysia, I am sure you’ll remind him again, if you have the chance to talk to him then. Just dont bang the table to get your point across ok :))

    Hi Jo, you’re right, maybe they are still working with potential M’sian sponsors. There’s always hope for us still. You guys are so lucky to have Ovation Production.

    So Msian Archies – lets stay positive…we still have about 2 months to go before David’s two stops in Asia, who knows what might happen then. Hmmm, maybe we can start another petition LOL

  4. Hi Jo!
    I’m so glad we have a friend in you from the Philippines.. Thank you for your concern for us Malaysian fans. It’s just that all his fans here are missing him so much, and there are many who cannot afford the airfares/hotel etc, or take time off from work to go to Manila. Other than moaning and groaning to ourselves, we need a place like AAM to give vent to our frustrations about not being able to see him when he is almost just next door.

    I think what you said is very close to the truth, that there is a lack of sponsors here.
    Hmm………

    Hi Shirley!
    I certainly hope your optimism will bring us a David-concert in Malaysia! πŸ™‚
    If Shuyee, Sheba and I do get an opportunity to come close to him in Manila, we will do everything possible to bring him here………..just a little short of thumping on the table or shoving him into our suitcase and kidnapping him! πŸ˜€

  5. Hi Trance and Shirley, I understand how you feel, because I know all Malaysian fans missed David so much. You know, one of the member of Archie Philippines email to several concert producers in our country just to get David back to Philippines, some never replied back, and luckily one replied that was Ovation production. That Archie really persistence in writing and asking if they could produce David concert and it pay off. I think before the Ovation agreed, they even asked what are the reasons they will have David concert, it was a long process not an easy one, but it was effective.
    Malaysian fans why not try email those producers who send Korean pop star in Malaysia and maybe Justin Bieber producer show in your country if they can help send David to Malaysia. There’s nothing harm in trying, at least you do it all. If not effective then if Malaysian fans are available and have means then fly to Manila ha ha! Or if Indonesia is much easier for Malaysian fans then visit Indonesia

    That a nice idea Trace, kidnap David and place him in your suitcase ha ha! just kidding ha ha!

  6. Boy oh boy, I do hope we’re being fed a large dose of irony here, otherwise I’m going to have to recount all the things that have been going on in Archuland since David said “thanks, but no thanks” to Jive! Suffice it to say he has done more in the past 3 months than most of us do in 3 years (or 30).

    Another thing: I’m not going to accept your “poor little me” sob story. Do you realize that I have NEVER seen a David Archuleta solo concert? I’ve had to endure the other Top 10 idols of Season 7 one year and Demi Lovato the next at the 2 concerts I have attended. David has yet to perform a solo concert in the state where I reside, SO THERE!!! You guys should be feeling sorry for me, not the other way around!

  7. Another thing: Steven J. Robinson (@StevenJRob), David’s new percussionist, has tweeted about an Asian tour. In my way of thinking, 2 concerts does not a tour make, so I’m quite certain more announcements are coming. I do hope Malaysia is included, despite the snarkiness of my previous comment!

  8. Katheryn!
    To ” poor little you” from “poor little us”!!

    Your 1st post sent me into fits of laughter LOL!
    I certainly hope Steven got his facts right and that David will still come to Malaysia…keeping all my fingers crossed…..and toes too!

    You know, Katheryn, I have a niggly desire to move to the Philippines and I think you should start packing too! πŸ˜€

  9. Hey guys…don’t give up! There’s still other Archie news to share πŸ™‚ keep the passion alive! He will be here soon enough πŸ™‚

  10. trace: That’s not a bad idea. David in another solo concert, his songs being played on the radio…it’s all very tempting!

    Everyone: Please keep on voting for David’s version of DLTSGDOM. I believe the poll will end sometime later this week (supposedly with the conclusion of this year’s A.I., so probably on Thursday). The fans of our closest competitor – B.B. (I’m deliberately not spelling out his name in the event of his fans doing web searches) – have been very cagey these past few weeks remaining close but never passing us in the vote count. I think their strategy is to stay within striking range so that they can power vote the last day or two. Remember, you can vote as often as you want as long as you clear cookies between votes.

    http://the-dam-nation.blogspot.com/2011/04/american-idol-faceoff-who-sang-it.html

  11. Don’t lose hope Malaysian fans, Vietnam is already included in David asian tour, who knows maybe Malaysia next, it is slowly revealing one by one his asia tour.

  12. Dear, sweet Uncle John and the Board of Directors –

    This is a Plea for help.
    An Appeal to your sweet, kind soul lest we David-fans fall and sink into a deep depression.
    You have, on numerous occasions through the past few years, selflessly and relentlessly done so much for AAM, for which, I believe, everyone is ever grateful and appreciative. I believe we need you again.

    After the Jakarta and Manila announcements, and no mention of Malaysia, there have been get-together’s amongst several Aam’ers to initially huff and puff……to cry on each other’s shoulders…… you get the picture. These sessions fortunately took a more positive approach as hours went by, and turned into a tunnel with a visible light at the end of it.

    We concluded that the obvious reason for David not coming here is: That he had no sponsors/invitation.

    Would it be possible for us to help get an Invitation for him?
    Could AAM approach some big companies for sponsorship?
    Perhaps it is time that our Petition saw the light of day again?

    Off the cuff, I can think of Digi, Sony, Maxis…..
    I am certain there will be companies who will have an interest in sponsoring a concert which has the back up of a 5000-strong petition.

    I am one of the fortunate ones who will be going to Manila. But there are thousands of David-fans in Malaysia who, for various reasons, are not able to go. These are the lovelies we must help, if possible. If, for any reason, we fail in our quest, at least we can tell ourselves that we have tried.

    So, dear Uncle John – (term meant in respect – nothing to do with your age which I don’t know anyway πŸ™‚ ) and dear BOD – what say you? Yes?

  13. Gosh…missed the times when I must start my day logging into AAM and even before I leave office.

  14. Trace .. A group has started .. go to facebook and search for ‘we want David back in Malaysia’ and show your support there.

  15. Shuyee
    I don’t have facebook but I was told the petition there needs 100 signatures to send to Sony. But AAM already has 5000 signatures! We really ought to use our petition to send to Sony.

  16. Sweet Uncle John, Anne and Kylie – we, AAMers will stand behind you if you could talk to sponsors like Jo, our Pinoy Archie recommended. We must not give up hope!

    Trace – enjoy yourself in Manila and you could meet up with Jo when you are there. πŸ™‚ Remember to come back with a recap.

  17. Thanks Hema for the headsup!

    I hope that is true, but a part of me thinks he may have mistaken Philipines for Malaysia. Anyway, let’s pray and hope he’s heading for Malaysia too.

  18. Hi Trace, thanks for thinking of the rest of us who couldnt make it to Indonesia and Manila ((big hugs))

    Dear AAM Admins, you’ll definitely will have our support should you decide to go with the suggestions by Trace and Jo. Not so much that we must have a successful outcome but at least we can say we tried πŸ™‚

    Haha, David must have been overly excited about Myrtle Beach. Hope that was not a mistake when he mentioned Malaysia instead of Manila πŸ™‚ Maybe we will hear some good news soon.

  19. *cough* *cough* Uncle John here.
    Hey there long time no see πŸ™‚ It’s been awhile.

    Yah pretty bummed that our little munchkin – albeit a 20 something year old – seems to have given Malaysia a miss.

    Anyway we’ve written to Sony asking ( more like grovelling really ) for some good news. Keep everything crossed!

    As for looking for sponsors, I’m afraid we don’t have that kind of connections but if any of you knows somebody who knows somebody else…..

    We do have the petition which we started a couple of years ago. I’ll see if I can dig it up again.

  20. It’s been a while since we all got together again on the page, right guys??? Really missed the “ARCHULETANISME” we spark up together! The date for Malaysia is yet to be confirmed! Like what John said earlier: “Keep everything crossed!” πŸ˜€

  21. See, I told you guys that more announcements would be coming!

    I’m thinking Japan might be in the works and perhaps Thailand. David is probably working with security to determine if it’s safe to fly to Kuala Lumpur Airport again, so hang tight!

  22. Hey guys. Been a while. John, thanks for digging up the petition. I really really hope that the malaysia rumour is confirmed. Would love it if that happened!
    A bit sad at the hiatus post but totally understand it but I know this is a lot to ask but is it at all possible to change the title of the post? Maybe to Asia Tour or something with maybe a mention of that petition. It’s just that I think all these appearances and shows in Asia are currently being determined and finalised in Asia and I think a big factor in the determination is the level of interest indicated by the country (as is the case for Indonesia and Philippines). One way to ascertain this is by looking at local fans and their website and I don’t know, I just don’t want them to think that we’ve lost interest or something because of the title. So if you guys can change the post title (even if its only for a while pending finalisation of his Asian Tour dates), it would be really really AWESOME, but if not, its okay guys. Don’t worry about it. I guess I’m just paranoid πŸ™‚ But thanks nevertheless for all that you’ve done and here’s hoping that this site will come alive again and SOON. Hopefully with a full concert being announced by a certain 20 yr old artist πŸ™‚

  23. *cough* *cough* Uncle John again.

    Don’t get your hopes up too much about what David said during the Memorial Day interview as he could have meant Philippines instead.

    Sony replied and unfortunately they’re out of the loop as well as far as David’s plans are concerned.

  24. David is no longer with Sony, Sony is a counterpart of Jive in Asia, it could not be possible for Sony to invite David , so it could be if there will be a sponsor or producer for Malaysian concert. As of now David have no label, we don’t know if he is dealing with Malaysian sponsor as of now or not, maybe Malaysian fans could do a little ninja if David is talking with one, or write to malaysian company who produced korean pop and other foreign singer concert in Malaysia.

  25. Yeah… But David’s face in his latest vlog kind of hides a shimmer of hope for us here.. πŸ™‚ He’s “Not a very good liar” πŸ˜€

  26. Wheeeee…………!! Uncle John is back! Welcome home, sweet Uncle John!
    I’m racking my brain as to who I know who knows somebody who knows somebody….

    Shirley,
    Hm.. David must have been thinking of us to have made a slip of the tongue and said Malaysia instead of the Philippines. I don’t remember him having “slipped his tongue” before, so I too hope (everything crossed) it is for real. πŸ™‚

    Amy
    A recap will be forthcoming if all goes well. πŸ™‚
    Thank you for your good wishes!

    Amy, I know you like Korean and Taiwanese entertainment. Is it possible for you to check who the sponsors were, like when Lee Hom came to KL…etc. etc. Was it Genting? Anyone knows the Genting people?

    Katheryn
    I never tire watching that KLIA vid.
    Aww….Katheryn, we would never harm even a single hair on David’s lovely head or a single pore on his body. LOL!

    Thailand and Japan too after Jakarta and Manila? If what you say is true, SURELY he cannot possibly bypass us. We are right in the middle of these countries!

  27. Katheryn- That could be great if David will be invited by Thailand and Japan, we all know David like to go to Japan as he mentioned in his previous interview, it could be dream come true for David and also David like Thai food, so he could taste authentic Thai food in Thailand, I know David songs is doing well in Thailand , hope he really got invited to do a show there.

Leave a Reply

